Counterglow Forums  

Go Back   Counterglow Forums > General Discussions > Technoglow

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-2006, 11:10:03   #1
Resource Consumer
Guardian of All Things Holy
 
Resource Consumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Al Khobar, Magic Kingdom
Disk Partition Question

Hey, I am trying to beak the habit of a lifetime and ask and intelligent question on here.

OK. Assume I have 2 150 GB disks set up as RAID 0. I can see how having two disks can improve access times.

I can also sort of see how setting up a partition into C: and D: with the system on C: should improve things as well. I guess that is because the computer does not have to look through other crap to find the system files it needs.

So, my question.

1) Assume this two part partition. Is there any reason that the system (C partition needs to occupy 150 GB (I think not)? What is the optimum (or minimum recommended) partition size for the system drive?

2) If then, I decide on a 4-way partition - C:, D:, E:, F: (or whatever). This could be easier for organising stuff from my point of view but does increasing the number of partitions do anything horrible to access times? Any other potential pitfalls?

Thanks to all for any advice (what would I do without you guys).
Resource Consumer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 11:20:04   #2
Rekrul
Reverse
 
Rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Freelance
If you're using Windows C: needs to be fairly big just to accommodate all the bloat - say minimum 5GB (plucking a figure out of the air). You'll also find that as you install more apps a lot of them will install to the C: drive unless you specify otherwise; since you have plenty of space allocate perhaps 10 GB to the C: drive.

That still leaves you 140 GB toplay with for your other partitions - note that is 140 GB and not 290 - if you have a RAID 0 set-up then, iirc, any data is written simultaneously to BOTH of the physical disks. Something to do with access times and data security / redundancy I think, but you'd better ask someone who kows what they're talking about

I don't think splitting into different partitions will adversely affect your access times - if anything it would improve them. In any case for most PC useage you wouldn't be able to notice the difference 'with the naked eye', unless you were doing some pretty intensive processing.

Finally, organising your data that way makes your back-ups easier. Just keep all the valuable stuff on one partition and copy that one to a CD or whatever on a regular basis. That way you don't end up backing up windows and all the associated crap as well, wasting time and storage space.

Hope that helps. I apologise for making a serious post
__________________
If you're not panicking, then you probably don't understand the gravity of the situation
Rekrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 12:26:24   #3
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
5-10GB for a system drive. Probably 10GB. Depending on your OS. For example, windows XP takes like 3GB's itself, plus it needs all the extra space for the swap file and other shit like that.

Also, rekrul, RAID 1 is the redudant RAID. RAID 0 is not redundant at all, it's a striping set up so files are broken up across the hard drives however the SCSI controller deems necessary. So RC would have 290GB of storage.

I'm not aware of the number of partitions affecting access times.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:15:14   #4
Rekrul
Reverse
 
Rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Freelance
Quote:
Originally posted by Rekrul
... but you'd better ask someone who knows what they're talking about
I rest my case. Cheers Venom
__________________
If you're not panicking, then you probably don't understand the gravity of the situation
Rekrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:17:29   #5
Rekrul
Reverse
 
Rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Freelance
RAID explained

If anyone can be arsed. Too geeky for me
__________________
If you're not panicking, then you probably don't understand the gravity of the situation
Rekrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:20:58   #6
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
I only know because I just put a RAID 1 server in my office.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:32:58   #7
Rekrul
Reverse
 
Rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Freelance
A likely story. You have that kind of information at your fingertips - we know you know
__________________
If you're not panicking, then you probably don't understand the gravity of the situation
Rekrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:37:18   #8
DevilsH@lo
Gone and Long forgotten.
 
DevilsH@lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abu Dhabi. UAE
I have used ide raid 0 a couple of times and although it does increase speed slightly, the impending doom of single disk failure and thus complete system failure annoyed me too much to ever do it again.

I would use 0 and 1 across a 4 disk array if i was ever going to do it again.
DevilsH@lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:58:51   #9
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
Known as RAID 10.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 14:59:17   #10
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
I swear, I don't know anything about that.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 15:34:12   #11
Resource Consumer
Guardian of All Things Holy
 
Resource Consumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Al Khobar, Magic Kingdom
Thanks guys - that is much appreciated.

So 10 GB for the OS and no problem with the other partitions.

I really need to buy the posters on this forum a drink
__________________
Bossman
Resource Consumer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 15:38:16   #12
Funko
Pubs Minister
 
Funko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Banned
If they can't make it to the wedding, I'll drink them for them.

They can thank me some other time.
Funko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 15:39:57   #13
Resource Consumer
Guardian of All Things Holy
 
Resource Consumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Al Khobar, Magic Kingdom
you're only in this thread for the beer
__________________
Bossman
Resource Consumer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 15:42:16   #14
Funko
Pubs Minister
 
Funko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Banned
I am here to show support because I truly care about RAID issues.
Funko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 19:10:29   #15
Rekrul
Reverse
 
Rekrul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Freelance
Thanks Funko. My drink of choice is a Baileys and creme de menthe, but you can have it for me at RC's wedding
__________________
If you're not panicking, then you probably don't understand the gravity of the situation
Rekrul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 20:36:10   #16
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
I'll have a yak piss with dung ball.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 21:07:40   #17
Darkstar
will bitch for beer
 
Darkstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rocket City
You should make your system drive at least 20 Gig. So many applications slam down files on the C drive, regardless of where else you tell them to install. Plus, all those security updates for Windows. And then temp space for all your browsers, players, and whatnot. Definately 20 Gig at a minimum.

With just 2 HDs, I'd not run RAID. I'd set it up such that the First Disk is a System drive, with two partions if I wasn't running Media Center on it. If I was running MC, then the whole drive would be one partition, as Media Center wants to put all your DVR recordings on the system drive. Recordings are easily moved by the most unimaginative or Drekkus of users though, so it isn't a big problem.

Second drive, I'd set as one solitary partition. But if you want 2 or 3, enjoy.

I just don't see a point setting yourself up to lose all your data when 1 drive cracks, or some malware cracks your system. Going old school like this will prevent you losing all your data when one HD goes out to lunch (which will eventually happen), and make reinstalling windows much easier on you. All your important data is on Drive 2, and that doesn't need to be reformated for a good clean install.

But hey, I suppose with a displined usage of a large external USB 2 or Firewire hard drive, you can preserve your important info. Whatever it might be.
__________________
> clue++;
> display clue;
-878923403

Last edited by Darkstar; 12-04-2006 at 21:09:45.
Darkstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2006, 09:00:47   #18
Resource Consumer
Guardian of All Things Holy
 
Resource Consumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Al Khobar, Magic Kingdom
Darkstar,

Thanks. Actually, I am sort of going that way with a spare drive doing the backups in addition to the Raid 0 array. Most (all) important data will be backed up to at least that drive and also (sometimes) to a hard drive.

The point about the 20 GB is ntoed. Actually, I am not that sensitive to making it 20 or 30 or 40 - just need to know that it does not have to be 100 or so.

Thanks all.
__________________
Bossman
Resource Consumer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2006, 12:00:57   #19
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
Darkstar must be rich, because hard drives for the SCSI card run about $300 a piece.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2006, 13:57:14   #20
Resource Consumer
Guardian of All Things Holy
 
Resource Consumer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Al Khobar, Magic Kingdom
I am sure he is very rich
__________________
Bossman
Resource Consumer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2006, 20:48:51   #21
Darkstar
will bitch for beer
 
Darkstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rocket City
Rich enough to afford a couple of drives and controllers.
__________________
> clue++;
> display clue;
-878923403
Darkstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-2006, 20:56:05   #22
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
So, pretty rich then. Can I borrow say.....5 or 10 thousand dollars?

I'll pay you back. I'm good for it.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2006, 14:24:13   #23
Spartak@CPH
Deity
 
Spartak@CPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Yeah.
Spartak@CPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2006, 18:32:39   #24
Darkstar
will bitch for beer
 
Darkstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rocket City
See? Spartak will loan you the money. I'd get his terms for repayment though. He might be charging you 100% interest compounded annually, like a kind loan shark.
__________________
> clue++;
> display clue;
-878923403
Darkstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:30:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Counterglow 2001-2012. All rights reserved.