Counterglow Forums  

Go Back   Counterglow Forums > General Discussions > Technoglow

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 15-07-2005, 17:33:19   #1
Nills Lagerbaak
Role Model
 
Nills Lagerbaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hiding inside the computers
CD RW help!!

Hi y'all, (feel I must be formal in the techie forum)

My CDRW suddenly stopped being recognised by my PC (it didn't appear on explorer and wouldn't play audio)

So I sent it back to the manufacturers and they sent me a new one. Same thing happens (i.e. nothing)

It gets passed the dos stage, and the Bio recognises it and I can open and close the tray (which I guess just means the power is on), but as soon as I put a CD in it whirs for a little bit then just stops.

It can'[t be the CDRW twice in a row can it?!?

How can I re-=install the driver if the CD won't play???

Help please!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

"I quite like the fairies." - Funko
Nills Lagerbaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 17:46:38   #2
Debaser
Badass Monkey
 
Debaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: In a tree.
Have tried updating your drivers?

(I don't really know what this means, but I didn't say it someone else would...)
Debaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 18:04:57   #3
Gary
Putting you lot right since 2001
 
Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Home
I suppose it could be, but it's unlikely.

Have you tried replacing the PC ?
__________________
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall,
Aleph-null bottles of beer,
You take one down, and pass it around,
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall.
Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 18:06:09   #4
Gary
Putting you lot right since 2001
 
Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Home
Oh and if you can resist the 100-0, you get the latest drivers off the Net.
__________________
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall,
Aleph-null bottles of beer,
You take one down, and pass it around,
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall.
Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 18:15:13   #5
Spartak
_
 
Spartak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
alternatively have you tried the drive in afriends PC to see whether it works there?
__________________
Broken link to THAT photo HERE
Spartak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 18:56:10   #6
Gary
Putting you lot right since 2001
 
Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Home
I think that's what I said
__________________
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall,
Aleph-null bottles of beer,
You take one down, and pass it around,
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall.
Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-07-2005, 21:28:30   #7
Cruddy
Good days and bad
 
Cruddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vice City
Could be a connection problem - the data cable might have come loose from the motherboard, or the power cord might not be in right.

Could also be a Windows problem with it not being recognised - did you try a system restore to when it did work?
__________________
We will bite them on the features
Cruddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-07-2005, 21:44:21   #8
No longer Trippin
Happy
 
No longer Trippin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Louisiana
Could be the IDE cable in general or how it is connected. Or the firmware which I noticed hasn't been mentioned.

Is it on it's own controller or not (cable)? What do you have the jumper set to?

If you know it's already pluggeed in right, then I'd take it to a friends and use one of their cables and system. If it works, then I'd replace the cable. If it still doesn't work after new firmware (different than drivers) and after replacing the cable on your computer then I'd return it and grab a different brand. If you want to test your cable, just bring it with you and use it to test your drive there again if yours works on his cable. If your still having the same problem and it isn't the cable, then your up shit creek and will either have to be content on going without one, buying a new one, or spending a long time (or paying someone to) find the problem.
No longer Trippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 14:07:36   #9
Nills Lagerbaak
Role Model
 
Nills Lagerbaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hiding inside the computers
Aha, many thanks.

Problem with getting drivers off net is that I have no internet connection at home. I have tried to get the latest driver on a floppy, but I only seem to be able to find updates and not the actual driver I require....

I have the CD RW on a seperate data cable and the jumper is set to slave. I could try another lead I suppose....

I could also do a system restore, but what exactly will that do to my computer, and how do you do it?


Cheers guys
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

"I quite like the fairies." - Funko
Nills Lagerbaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-07-2005, 19:33:58   #10
DevilsH@lo
Gone and Long forgotten.
 
DevilsH@lo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Abu Dhabi. UAE
Is it set to slave but sitting on the end connector? And is it an 80 core as opposed to a 40 core cable?

If its set to slave and its sitting on the middle of an 80 way connector it may not be detected (Master needs to be final connector, slave the middle), another thing which windows occasionally has problems with is detecting cdrw driver with DMA enabled, try disabling it in bios and set to PIO4 and disable the DMA auto select feature in windows.
DevilsH@lo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2005, 08:19:42   #11
Nills Lagerbaak
Role Model
 
Nills Lagerbaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hiding inside the computers
Very helpful, I will try that. I don't think it's anything to do with the position on the cable (as it's the same connection that the old one was on). I'm guessing the bios might have something to do with it.
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

"I quite like the fairies." - Funko
Nills Lagerbaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-07-2005, 11:59:45   #12
Cruddy
Good days and bad
 
Cruddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vice City
System Restore puts the system back to a known working date - the way I get to it is is usually Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools.

If there are no restore points then you can't do one = but have a play and see what you've got.

If you've changed your hardware since a restore was created, Windows will find new hardware after a system restore. The drivers should still be OK on your hard drive though, so after a restart or 2 the system gets back to normal. Remember, at least one restart per piece of hardware.

You'll also lose shortcuts after a restore - it's usually a small price to pay.
__________________
We will bite them on the features
Cruddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 10:15:41   #13
Nills Lagerbaak
Role Model
 
Nills Lagerbaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hiding inside the computers
Thanks guys!

The problem was highly technical, it would appear that the CDRW cable had become detactched from the motherboard.

Now please explain how this could happen with the case still on having never been opened?!?!

Anyway, got a free new CDRW out of it, thanks for all the help!
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

"I quite like the fairies." - Funko
Nills Lagerbaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 12:10:58   #14
Gary
Putting you lot right since 2001
 
Gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Home
Glad it's solved.

Shows how much I know, if the Bio recognised it I'd have figured that the cable must be in ok. Still with hindsight it is one thing to check.
__________________
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall,
Aleph-null bottles of beer,
You take one down, and pass it around,
Aleph-null bottles of beer on the wall.
Gary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 15:33:13   #15
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
Quote:
Originally posted by Nills Lagerbaak
Thanks guys!

The problem was highly technical, it would appear that the CDRW cable had become detactched from the motherboard.

Now please explain how this could happen with the case still on having never been opened?!?!

Anyway, got a free new CDRW out of it, thanks for all the help!
All kinds of stuff spinning and vibrating in there. It's unlikely, but not impossible that a poorly connected or constructed cable could be shaken loose.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 16:43:56   #16
Nills Lagerbaak
Role Model
 
Nills Lagerbaak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: hiding inside the computers
True. It has been transported a few times too....
__________________
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

"I quite like the fairies." - Funko
Nills Lagerbaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-07-2005, 17:52:20   #17
Venom
Look out behind you!
 
Venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Rudolph's stable
Not that I'm calling your computer poorly constructed. But you know how somethings just break.
__________________
TO MY BALLS!!!!!
or
TO LazyView!!!!

Venom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:49:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
© Counterglow 2001-2012. All rights reserved.