PDA

View Full Version : Freeciv!


LoD
03-07-2002, 08:55:24
Anyone plays it? Anyone want to play it with me :)?

LoD
03-07-2002, 13:16:53
Well, if anyone does now, connect to civserver via port 7772.

LoD
03-07-2002, 13:17:23
And I mean NOW.

Funkodrom
03-07-2002, 13:19:32
What is it?

LoD
03-07-2002, 13:29:39
http://www.freeciv.org . Basically an open-source civ game, which huge possibilities. And, it can support up to 30 players per game.

Funkodrom
03-07-2002, 13:41:49
Cool. Just a limited number of units etc at the moment by the looks of things?

LoD
03-07-2002, 16:43:39
What are you refering to?

Nav
03-07-2002, 17:53:10
Er. The limited number or units at the moment.. perchance? ;)

Venom
03-07-2002, 17:54:16
LoD's just suprised that someone actually responded to his thread on topic.

Funkodrom
03-07-2002, 18:59:58
Originally posted by LoD
What are you refering to?

I went to the website and looked at some of the pages and it looked like a cut down version of Civ with fewer units available.

ajli@home
04-07-2002, 04:39:34
I tried that game once...so slow...unbearable. By turn 5 it was taking like 10 seconds to process a single move.

Funkodrom
04-07-2002, 08:25:17
That's about what the original was like on my Amiga. :D

LoD
04-07-2002, 09:52:04
LOL@Venom.

Funko: well, the basic unit set is on par with the Civ2 one. Civ3 is of course another story. However the game is higly customizable.

ajli: instead of bitching about the GTK client that was made about a year ago, would you care to d/l the native windows one before making any comments :)?

Funkodrom
04-07-2002, 09:53:44
Ah... looked like you only got a few units in the introduction.

Deacon
05-07-2002, 00:44:09
The AI is insane. The last time I played, I hung on until I discovered Ironclads and Musketeers, but the comp had Destroyers and Riflemen.

LoD
05-07-2002, 20:05:14
And it doesn't cheat. Otherwise that it's omniscient. But no production bonuses, no research bonuses, nothing in that regard.

Sean
05-07-2002, 20:21:58
Omniscient isn’t cheating :hmm:?

LoD
06-07-2002, 08:48:30
I didn't say that :). But, if the Freeciv AI was to be granted such bonuses as in SMAC or Civ3, it would eradicate ANY player in 50 turns. Now it just eradicatest most players by 100 AD ;).

Darkstar
12-07-2002, 05:57:20
Originally posted by ajli@home
I tried that game once...so slow...unbearable. By turn 5 it was taking like 10 seconds to process a single move.

Ajli sighting!