PDA

View Full Version : NWN: Darkstar is doomed!!!

DaShi
20-06-2002, 00:56:08
It seems that NWN is off to a bumpy start. Lots of install problems and crashes. Fortunately, Bioware is right on the ball and have released a speedy patch. Although tech. support complaints are supposed to go to Interplay, Bioware has provided a forum where players can share info on how to solve problems; in addition, they have one of there own guys there to help.
This is how QA should be done.

http://nwn.bioware.com/forums/viewforum.html?forum=49

Sean
20-06-2002, 08:24:07
No, it should work right out of the box :rolleyes:. They should do QA before release.

King_Ghidra
20-06-2002, 10:26:35
PC software is compete bitch to test. I should know - i do it for a living. All you can do is reduce the risk of major faliures occurring in the most important areas of functionality. Of course install is one of those, but i don't know the types of OS and hardware configs it is failing on so i can't really comment beyond that.

My sympathy is with them, they seem to be doing their best. PC's really are a bitch.

Shining1
20-06-2002, 10:45:02
Sean - it's a bit rich to insist that game that revolves entirely around the possibility of web-based D&D can't use good tech support to overcome a bumpy launch...

MDA
20-06-2002, 14:09:40
Excellent thread title - we should take up a collection to get Darkstar a backup system to play games on - JUST IN CASE his regular box won't work. :p (blatant attempt to see if he's lurking)

Sean
20-06-2002, 16:24:20
Shining, Sin got roasted for realeasing a patch so quickly, the assumption being that the game was rushed. Why does NWN get praised for being rushed?

DaShi
20-06-2002, 16:39:05
We like Bioware better. :D

Shining1
21-06-2002, 02:54:07
Yes we love Bioware!:)