PDA

View Full Version : GTA3


Nav
24-05-2002, 10:44:01
First thing I did before getting into work was to buy my copy!

Damn shame it's still 7 hours till I get home... :cry:

Nav
24-05-2002, 18:43:44
This is ab-so-lut-ley brill. Don't hesitate to buy it (ive only been playing for half-an-hour .. no shit an hour+!!)

The level of detail is great. Walk thru a body and you leave bloody footprints, Especially cool is being able to take taxis, police cars and ambulances and perform jobs!

This is real fun, I havent even got a gun yet, let alone had more than one * criminal rating. Excellent!

Sean
24-05-2002, 18:46:30
I think most of us have already played it on a PS2 :p.

Deacon
24-05-2002, 20:27:58
It's out? I'll have to get it before the decency nuts pop up and try to get it pulled.

Nav
24-05-2002, 20:38:08
Sorry. I don't have a Piece of Shit 2 :p

Anyway I'm enjoying it, even if no-one else cares! :)

Deacon
24-05-2002, 20:42:59
I'm only giving up my PC when they pry it from my dead hands. :)

Sean
24-05-2002, 20:50:56
PCs and consoles aren’t mutually exclusive, strange as it may seem.

Herman
24-05-2002, 22:13:02
The PS2 version has blurry textures, lower poly counts, and smaller levels.

I recommend the PC version to everyone.

Nav
25-05-2002, 15:31:33
I'm in love with a computer game... :heart:

FunkyFingers
27-05-2002, 15:12:48
Originally posted by Herman
The PS2 version has blurry textures, lower poly counts, and smaller levels.

I recommend the PC version to everyone.

Even if you don't have a pc that will run it?

What's the minimum pc spec? At low resoloution on a PC, you might as well have got the PS2 version.

Funkodrom
27-05-2002, 15:14:58
How much are Sony paying you?

FunkyFingers
27-05-2002, 15:36:41
Originally posted by MikeH
How much are Sony paying you?

Not enough I can tell you :(

Herman
28-05-2002, 01:24:11
I would have recommended people get the graphically improved Xbox port, but Sony paid Rockstar to scrap the nearly complete Xbox and GBA ports of GTA3.

And it runs fine on my system, even with FSAA. :D

Corwin
30-05-2002, 15:26:59
I am also playing this game. Excellent design. I played it on the PS2 too, and I have to say that I prefer the mouselook targetting to the PS2 lockon version.

I just finished 'Waka-gashira Wipeout!' last night. Interesting mission, but I hate having to drive those damn Cartel Cruisers. They drive like turds on wheels.

Favorite quote: "You named your group CRAP?! What kind of moron are you?"

Mightytree
04-06-2002, 18:47:16
Bought it today! :beer:

DaShi
05-06-2002, 01:19:17

King_Ghidra@home
07-06-2002, 08:45:59
Got this the other day, having a great laugh playing it. Lots of variety (normal missions, taxi missions, vigilante missions, firefighting & ambulance missions(!)), lots of mayhem, lots of secrets and things to see and do. Big up your status!

But why does it still chug on my athlon 1.4 w/512mb ram and geforce2 (even in 800x640)?????!?!?!

Herman
07-06-2002, 08:57:34
try updating your drivers

Beta1
11-06-2002, 16:43:42
hi Guys,

Just bought this one myself but BOY DOES IT CHUG!!!!!!

Been reading around and a lot of people are having a lot of problems with frame rates even with computers way above the rec spec.

Heres my story

Installed it on my home desktop machine -

1ghz athlon (not duron)
192Mb ram
Newly (2 weeks ago) reformatted disk and newly installed OS
GF2 GTS 32mb

and its real chug-o-rama 5 fps if I'm lucky

Turn all the settings to min maybe 10Fps max

(the rec spec is a 750mhz 128mb 32mg graphics card so I'm way past that, the min spec is a 450/64/16 so if it runs I'll eat mt laptop)

rather pissed off.

For a laugh install it on my laptop

1.06 mobile celeron, 256 ram, win2K, Intel 830m graphics that doesnt even have its own memory

turn everything to min and......











It works fine. What the fuck is all that about then???

I cant belive the difference between 192 and 256 ram is the key esp as its meant to run in 64.

Am now upgrading drivers and stuff but at this rate its going to be laptop only gta

Darkstar
12-06-2002, 03:13:20
GTA3 sucked, sucked, and sucked.

And sucked some more.

That's word from the Dark Bird.

Ok... details...

Horrid frame rates with horrid general processing . I've got a P4 1.7 Mhz system with a GeForce4 64 Meg Ram now... and this game just sucks. Even with it cranked down.

Moving at night is like tracer acid trip. Turn off trails, and it's even worse.

Cars don't drive right. This is due to the incredibly sucky, sucky, sucky collision detection system... You'll just be tooling along and suddenly, your back end just whips around. Reason? A pedestrian has inadverdantly stepped into your space (but it happens between 'frames' (read, between seconds!) or even more amazing, a car travelling SLOWER then you has suddenly overtaken you and banged you. Simply incredibly HORRID.

Daytime, clear weather driving isn't too bad... as long as the GAME isn't trying to do to much at one time. If it is... forget it. The Diablo race is a good example.

It's firm missioned. This means, you have to play out certain missions, period. If you fail, you just go back and try again. However many times it might take for you to get past. Doesn't matter how many times you get the dons killed, for instance... that''s the next mission you have to do.

If you want money, just do the fire truck missions. You drive around, and spray water onto burning cars (most of which you caused to burn, if you drive like me). Each success steps up the money for the next time. I was up to making 50K a fire... and I hadn't yet gotten past all the Joey missions... I had tons of cash. How about letting me just buy a pass for those missions that are troubling me? Let's get real...

GTA3... they should not have gone 3D. They try to jam too much into the screen. And they screwed up the top down view, although it has the best frame rates in that view.

Get the demo. Go watch the weather effects, and a full day/night cycle of the sky. Now, you've seen the best part of the game. If it wasn't for the Fire and Cabi missions, there wouldn't be *any* driving fun in this game. It's graphic rate sucks. And the graphics do not look like they improved them from the consoles, by the way... so run a decent mode, and wonder what all those blobs on the screen are. Whee!

GTA3 is just trash, compared to the original. Bleah.

THis gets a 'Well, I'd play it a bit, if I got it for FREE' from me.

Deacon
12-06-2002, 05:38:03
I couldn't find a demo anywhere.

Herman
12-06-2002, 05:40:56
Originally posted by Darkstar
Horrid frame rates with horrid general processing . I've got a P4 1.7 Mhz system with a GeForce4 64 Meg Ram now... and this game just sucks. Even with it cranked down.
I would suggest you look into that. Make sure you've got the latest drivers.

It runs perfectly fine (maxed draw distance) at 1182x864x32 on my P3 800 + GeForce 3, and even runs with Quincunx AA + 1280x1024 on my Athlon XP 2100 + GF4 Ti4600 with tons of frames to spare.

Moving at night is like tracer acid trip. Turn off trails, and it's even worse.
Is this related to your system problem?

For the rest of your review, I'd say you're just having a bad day or your taste in gaming has changed.

I've loved GTA1, GTA2, and GTA3 all very much.

Herman
12-06-2002, 05:42:38
It seems cards without Vertex Shaders suck ass at GTA3, probably because it's emulating it on the CPU.

Your "GeForce 4" isn't a "GeForce 4 MX" by chance, is it, Darkstar? The GF4MX is a glorified GF2MX, there's no vertex or pixel shaders on it.

Deacon
12-06-2002, 05:58:17
Nvidia should have made the GF3 Ti 200 the next MX. Is it possible to turn off vertex shading in the game?

Herman
12-06-2002, 06:22:08
Vertex shading is how T&L is done in upcoming games. You can't turn it off, it's an integral part of the setup engine.

The reason why they didn't use the GF3 Ti200 core as the next MX is because the vertex shaders and pixel shaders nearly double the transister count of the chip. Too pricey for a value chip at the time.

The new value chip being launched in a couple months will have them though.

Darkstar
12-06-2002, 07:25:41
Herman...

That's on my new *notebook*.

My Big Box... running on it's loaner HD and loaner Motherboard, was the same.

It needs about 4 GHz sand power, 1 Gig Ram (I have 512 Meg on both Big Box and Noteboak and it needed MORE), and another +2 generations of GeForce at a minimal for GTA3 to match GTA1. The game has gone backwards in performance.

It has also became *more limited* a game... you only progress throughout the game by doing the missions. And if you do too much sideline activity, you can piss off the groups you *have* to do missions for so they kill you while showing up and leaving the start of a mission.

GTA3 is a mistake.

Herman
12-06-2002, 07:30:26
I've got 384MB on my P3 800 and it was fine.

The problem is definitely your "GeForce 4" video card without hardware capable to run the game.

It seems they concentrated on doing the Xbox port, using full vertex shaders, then once Sony bought exclusive rights they scrapped the Xbox port and quickly finished the PC port with what they had.

It's very strange that there's no support for the hard-wired T&L in the GF1/GF2/GF4MX cards, since vertex shaders emulated in the CPU are sooooooooo slow...

Darkstar
12-06-2002, 07:49:37
Well, it was the wrong decision on their part if that's what is making the game play like the worst prototype 3D games I've ever seen.

And the decisions to force you through missions to advance the game was another step back. So GTA3 gets Darkstar's lowest playable level... 'Well, I'd play it a bit, if I got it for FREE'.

It's not the brain dead Geforce4, as I recall. I could dig up it's stats but I don't recall. I'd remember MX though... At least, I don't think it's a Geforce4 MX...

Ah shit. The web site says the card is 32 Meg, but the material with the machine says 64. Humm... Here's the card stuff from the web site: NVIDIA® GeForce4™ 440 Go graphics controller with 32MB DDR VRAM

Whatever the hell that means. I just don't keep up with the hardware enough anymore... not really worth it to me.

Herman
12-06-2002, 08:31:40
The GeForce 4 Go also lacks vertex and pixel shaders, it's more or less the MX part with power-saving functions.

Beta1
12-06-2002, 10:04:53
It seems to really vary machine to machine - as I said it on a laptop fine but not on my games machine.

Yeah the linearity is a bit of a step back but then this is a pick up and play for 15 min game for me rather than play for 8 hrs straight. Admittedly I'm picking it up about 4 times an hour at the mo...

Nav
12-06-2002, 10:45:42
It ran really well on my 1.2Ghz 256mg geforce 3 powered machine at 1024x768 up until the all the islands where unlocked, now it does tend to stutter occasionally but it is still playable.

This is a brilliant game. I love it.

Corwin
12-06-2002, 12:50:36
Darkstar, I happen to disagree with you. It works just fine on my system, and I think its fun.

Just finished it this weekend. Yeeha.

I thought a lot of missions were really fun.

To each their own, I guess.

By the way, has there ever been a PC game that you liked? (J/K) :D

Nav, how far along are you in the game?

Nav
12-06-2002, 19:12:12
Just done a job where I had to lure these cars into a trap. I haven't played much in the last week, due to world cup, work, world cup, work etc.

Last time I played I attracted enough attention to warrant an assault by tanks. I got the police off my back and went after one of those tanks. I fired a few shots at it (and because my police rating was now 0) the driver got out, I promptly shot him and stole the tank! Oh what fun! :D

DaShi
12-06-2002, 22:01:32

Darkstar
14-06-2002, 05:15:00
I didn't forget the Vigilante missions. They *suck*. Somehow, my cop cruiser is never able to properly overtake anything a 'villian' is driving. I'm serious. Fire Truck missions are the easy money... and since a Fire Truck cannot get stuck on anything except it's wheels, and it takes an incredible amount of damage to set a fire truck on fire, it's serious easy money and tons of fun. Very funny flipping and spinning the truck, having cops chase you with choppers and cruisers while you run about... and you lose your stars fast, putting out fires... even if you are running over pedestrians, cops, etc.

GTA3 is just not worth wasting any money on it... It's missions are too linear, it's got too much 3D, and it's wasteful code... anything that grinds to a virtual halt on a 1.7GHz machine due to it trying to calculate basics... that's just a sucky game.

You want to play it, go for it. Just pirate it first. It isn't worth any money. Well, not PAPER money. :)

And yes, there have been plenty of games I've liked. :P

Herman
14-06-2002, 07:52:19
It's not calculating basics on your 1.7GHz machine, it's doing the entire triangle setup engine (with millions of triangles per second) in emulation on your CPU. That's why it sucks.

Venom
14-06-2002, 14:59:26
Is anyone suprised the game runs like shit on Darkstars machine?

Funkodrom
14-06-2002, 15:12:58
No

Venom
14-06-2002, 15:17:37
I didn't think so.

FunkyFingers
14-06-2002, 15:47:00
Doesn't explain why it works fine on a GF2/3 and not on a GF4.

Venom
14-06-2002, 15:55:51
Quit looking for explanations and you'll be fine.

Herman
14-06-2002, 22:27:43
Originally posted by FunkyFingers
Doesn't explain why it works fine on a GF2/3 and not on a GF4.
Yes, it does, because Darkstar's GF4 is NOT ACTUALLY A GEFORCE 4. It's extremely poor marketing for Nvidia. The GeForce 4 Go and GeForce 4 MX cards are not GF4 cards, nor are they even GF3 cards. They're GF2.

It's a GeForce 2 with the GeForce 4 name because "that's the time it came out" or something. It doesn't have any GF3/4 features like vertex and pixel shaders.

GTA3 runs perfectly fine on my P3 800 + GF3 system, and excellently on my Athlon 1733 + GF4 (real GF4) system. I've turned on full antialiasing and anisotropic filtering and run it in 1280x1024 with maxed draw distances and it runs fine.

Beta1
16-06-2002, 16:28:44
Update on my frame rates. Installing the latest drivers (3-8-2002) from nvidia fixed the problems. Now runs beautifully on a GF2 GTS 1hgz athlon system

I think this is anpther one to put down to Darkstars famously crap PC :)

So there you go it does work on a GF2

Deacon
17-06-2002, 19:26:36
Maybe it's heat? 3D games pound on a system, working the disk, memory controller, graphics card, and CPU. And if Rambus is in the picture, then the memory itself gets hot too.

Herman
17-06-2002, 22:35:02
I think all mobile P4s use DDR SDRAM.

DaShi
17-06-2002, 22:57:45

FunkyFingers
18-06-2002, 08:37:04
Drivers - it's always the poxy drivers. Madness.
All games should run on GF2 cards, they're so powerful to start with.

Beta1
18-06-2002, 09:04:52
You can shoot while driving?????????

How did I miss that - no wonder I've had so much problems with the take out so and so missions........

The grand theft auto mission ( from the casino on staunton) is a bastard, I keep running out of time on the way back with the last car. One time I had the dam thing in the garage and then the door didnt close fast enough. A couple of times I didnt put the car far enough in and had to get back in and nudge it forward again. God that mission is annoying.

Venom
18-06-2002, 13:12:05
What would GTA3 be without the drive by?

King_Ghidra
18-06-2002, 13:41:06
Originally posted by Venom
What would GTA3 be without the drive by?

but i don't understand how to do it (no manual, i have a copy:o )

if i hold down my shoot button while driving...nothing happens

and i do have the uzi btw :)

Venom
18-06-2002, 14:19:59
I don't know how to do it on the PC. On the PS2 it was a dedicated button. Like R2 or L2. Or maybe even one of the analog sticks.

Corwin
18-06-2002, 17:33:04
Ok, this is how you do it.

1. Look left or right. That's the Q or E keys by default.

2. Press the fire button,

3. Enjoy the carnage.


So. . . Anyone else stolen a tank yet?

Nav
19-06-2002, 21:10:44
Nooooo you shouldnt have told KG that... naughty he is!

King_Ghidra
24-06-2002, 15:59:27
:lol: i'm sorry nav, i've fallen in with a bad crowd (my workmates) and now i've had far too many copied games pimped to me. I know it's wrong...but after buying all those bloody expensive ps2 games there's no cash left anyway :cry:

I must confess i am absolutely addicted to this game though, it is brilliant.

I've just opened up the Donald Love missions and got access to the rocket launcher, M16 etc. through that one armed dude. Great fun!

One problem - i'm stuck on kenji's Grand Theft Auto mission. Three cars delivered in six minutes, what a bastard.

I'm tempted to take the donald love mission to assassinate him, but then i know i'll miss some of kenji's later missions...

decisions, decisions...

Corwin
24-06-2002, 19:59:46
That mission is a pain. Having to deliver the cars in mint condition makes have you have to really get the driving down.

One thing that helps: there is a minivan in the garage across from the spray shop. Much faster than trying to jack a new car.

King_Ghidra
25-06-2002, 08:08:24
whew! got through it last night. I realised i wasn't quite parking the cars right in the garage as well. Unless they're lined up straight the door doesn't close properly.

Finished the rest of kenji's missions and have now bumped him off. Just finished the mission where you pick up the packages dropped in the river by the aeroplane.

Now i've just had a bit of a burn around shoreside vale... next stop Ray's 'marked man' mission...

Nav
25-06-2002, 09:01:37
I'm currently 'stuck' on the rescue maria mission! well I need to keep at it till I get some decent weapons/some luck back....

Beta1
25-06-2002, 12:36:01
I'm stuck on the driveby mission (payphone on shoreside), the decoy (donald love) and the expresso to go (yakuza) am up to 30 hidden pakages now - free pistols, uzis and grenades. Also have found several of the patriot playgrounf style missions and several rampages including a hilarious one with a rocket launcher

Corwin
25-06-2002, 13:32:56
Yeah, that last mission is MUCH easier if you found all 100 hidden packages. (And you get $1,000,000!)

Scud Wallaby
27-06-2002, 19:25:33
Yeah great game - i'm stuck on the "Grand Theft Auto" mission - well not stuck just not patient enough to keep the cars mint. My only critisism, tiny tiny critisism, is that during the missions you have to stick to the game plan. For instance in the mission when Diablo bloke wants you to wreak his well endowed wrath on 25 Triads for wrecking his donkey memorabilia, you can only do it using the fire spray thing. I wanted to run a few over or grenade a few! And the Grand Theft Auto mission, why do I have to get the "Cheetah" at the Hospital? Why can't I just hijack a "Cheetah" and take that to the garage? I think that such a great game could maybe give you more of a chance to use your initiative and improvise.

Anyway, that's just a tiny critisism. Wouldn't normally even mention it if it wasn't for this major frustration at with this mission - at least I know it'll be a major rush when I actually get that last "mint" car into the garage! Might quit for the evening and see how long I can survive rocket lanching choppers and coppers from the first floor of the tw@ internet cafe!!!

-Scud-

Scud Wallaby
27-06-2002, 19:32:37
Originally posted by Scud Wallaby
Might quit for the evening and see how long I can survive rocket lanching choppers and coppers from the first floor of the tw@ internet cafe!!!

-Scud-

Hmmm... not very long...

-Scud-

Herman
27-06-2002, 21:27:31
GTA3 patch is out.

Deacon
07-11-2002, 03:32:28
I finally have the game. It is the best. I've played the first 10 missions or so. The side stuff is funny too. I went looking for some ramps to jump cars off of.

Tau Ceti
07-11-2002, 11:36:37
Searching for (and executing) unique stunts is great fun, though some of them are a bit disappointing. None of them managed to beat my (accidental) double insane stunt, with rotation around two axes and landing on the wheels. :)

Oh, can someone teach me how to fly that Dodo? The best time I have managed is 6 seconds - and that was diving off a bridge into the park. :( It seems to lose all engine power the second it takes off.

Funkodrom
07-11-2002, 11:49:02
I haven't played this yet. I'm still planning to get it sometime. *sigh*

Nav
07-11-2002, 12:49:06
I'm confused I didnt think you could control anything flyable in this game??

I've recently been mucking around with some custom cars , the lambourghini off gta3.net (http://gta3.gamigo.de/dlfile.php?id=1780), is fast and I've done some spectacular stunts.

oh and I never finished that last mission. :(

Mike, GTA: Vice city is out tomorrow I think for the PS2. Dammit :mad:

Tau Ceti
07-11-2002, 13:03:20
Funko: Definitely get it. It is brilliant.

Nav: There are three Dodos (small, single-engined plane) over at Francis Intl. I have never managed to get them to fly properly, but I have seen screenshots of people who have.

That last mission provides a lot of the equipment you need itself. It helps if you still have the bullet-proof car you got from Ray, and if you find the sniper rifle hidden in the trees at the corner of the road leading to the dam.

Funkodrom
07-11-2002, 13:35:36
I was going to get it when it comes onto the platinum range. I'm still feeling too poor to actually buy games.

Nav
08-11-2002, 01:41:39
I Doubt it will go budget for a while yet.

I have a tank, maybe I should try winning it with that. :D

Funkodrom
08-11-2002, 09:26:57
I might just get Vice City. :D

protein
08-11-2002, 14:21:25
I have GTA3 which you can swap for something for a little while.

Funkodrom
08-11-2002, 14:29:30
Tony Hawks 3?

protein
08-11-2002, 14:34:36
Deal.

protein
08-11-2002, 14:35:30
Bring a copy of the queens of the stone age album and Tony with you tonight.

Funkodrom
08-11-2002, 14:40:28
I won't have time to copy that tonight I don't think.

protein
08-11-2002, 14:42:59
'doh!

Funkodrom
08-11-2002, 14:50:05
I'll try.

protein
08-11-2002, 15:08:01
Woohoo!

Deacon
09-11-2002, 08:38:45
Vigilante and Taxi missions are alot of fun. I've only managed 12 vigilante kills in many attempts. I got a police bribe at my hideout after 10, so I wonder what'll happen at 20.

Deacon
09-11-2002, 09:38:53
And how do I do the firefighter missions? It's not written down anywhere how I get the truck to spray water. Doing some quick taps on the horn turns on the siren, but when I get to a fire, nothing happens.

Nav
09-11-2002, 13:19:15
just press fire.

Deacon
10-11-2002, 08:57:16
Works like a charm. I've managed now to do some other wacky stuff. I took a taxi up onto the El tracks. There was a flamethrower on top of a building. I also managed to get a crowd of angry Triad guys blown up by driving to a spot on the rails above Chinatown, then firing some shots to get their attention. When some cars stopped by the crowd, I blew them up with the shotgun. And 20 vigilante kills gets you 2 police bribes.

BoltyBoy
10-11-2002, 13:19:22
My bro managed to get the Dodo to fly pretty convincingly and I managed to get it half way to the middle island from airport.

That was a few months back now but I think it was something to do with pushing the nose in to the ground and yanking back and gaining as much height as quick as possible. I'll ask my bro for more details.

protein
11-11-2002, 10:07:15
Originally posted by Deacon
And how do I do the firefighter missions? It's not written down anywhere how I get the truck to spray water. Doing some quick taps on the horn turns on the siren, but when I get to a fire, nothing happens.
If you are on a PS2, it's either fire or R3 I think.

BoltyBoy
11-11-2002, 11:06:14
How to fly Dodo, from the horses mouth:

Yeah - the trick is that you don't actually control the engine: you
control the wheels. You need to push forwards gently to keep the
wheels on the ground as long as possible. Once it starts
bouncing, release the stick gently. Don't pull back: you will stall if
your airspeed drops too low. If the plane starts diving to the
ground, let it recover by itself. If it starts climbing steeply, push
forwards gently to let it climb slowly until it levels out.

Once you are in the air, the X button is useless - it makes nice
engine noises but does nothing. Basically it's a frictionless
system: you are balancing kinetic energy (speed) for potential
energy (height) - and as far as I can tell you can keep this up
forever unless you try pulling up out of a stall (at which point
you will hit the ground).

Deacon
15-11-2002, 06:15:52
I'm on the second island now. I still haven't done the first mission yet. I'm getting used to the new streets by doing Taxi and Vigilante missions. After getting a third police bribe, I stole an Enforcer and a FBI car. The FBI car lets you pick up hookers, which makes it more useful than the police cruiser. :)