PDA

View Full Version : New Work Computer


Funko
21-12-2007, 11:36:32
So I've spent the morning sorting out my new work computer. It's on Vista.

As always they've changed everything around and the much vaunted Aero interface had us laughing our heads off for a good few minutes before we disabled it.

:beer:

NERD FORUM!

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 11:42:25
boring

Funko
21-12-2007, 11:45:30
jesjes

Thought there were no games, but just found out how to turn them back on. Woo!

Provost Harrison
21-12-2007, 11:45:32
You disabled the Aero interface after a few minutes?! That long?!

Funko
21-12-2007, 11:49:56
Yeah. It took longer to find out how to turn it on.

Provost Harrison
21-12-2007, 12:44:35
Well I see you have managed to figure out how to get MSN Messenger to work on it ;)

Funko
21-12-2007, 12:48:12
Yeah. There was a link on the start menu.

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 12:50:05
Did you click that link?

Funko
21-12-2007, 12:54:07
I did.

Every time you install anything you have to click 2 admin approval boxes.

Why 2?

MoSe
21-12-2007, 12:56:24
Dhy di doooo!

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 12:58:22
I think one for ad and the other for min

Provost Harrison
21-12-2007, 13:02:00
That does get on your tits a bit after a while, doesn't it?

Funko
21-12-2007, 13:05:10
It was annoying the first time.

Provost Harrison
21-12-2007, 13:07:53
Just you wait ;) Have you had to right click on something yet and "Run as administrator"? I AM THE FUCKING ADMINISTRATOR!

Provost Harrison
21-12-2007, 13:09:13
To be fair, Vista does run very well on this system (it's a very modern PC to be fair with god knows how many cores and shit so it should) but it can be mildly annoying at times.

Funko
21-12-2007, 13:20:32
Actually, I don't mind it requiring administrator access to install programs, that makes sense. It could just ask me once though.

Funko
21-12-2007, 13:58:58
WOW! Look at Freecell!

http://img.x-drivers.ru/723/vista_freecell.jpg

Funko
21-12-2007, 13:59:22
Looks good but they made the cards move a lot slower. ARGH! Wankers.

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 14:01:05
quit your job

Funko
21-12-2007, 14:03:53
They've ruined it. :( How can you ruin freecell?

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 14:07:06
Where is Jeff Morris FIRAXIS when you need him?

Greg W
21-12-2007, 14:08:37
Make it pay to play?

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 14:09:22
add "every card fits" mode

Greg W
21-12-2007, 14:11:43
What does minesweeper look like?

Funko
21-12-2007, 14:13:42
Who cares? Minesweeper sucks.

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 14:14:11
Minesweeper is for bots

Greg W
21-12-2007, 14:14:46
What does hearts look like?

Tizzy
21-12-2007, 14:15:24
:heart::heart:

Funko
21-12-2007, 14:15:30
PANIC OVER!

You can turn the animations off which speeds it back up to normal *phew*.

The equivalent of turning Aero off for the desktop.

C.G.B. Spender
21-12-2007, 14:16:18
They should add a "I don't want that whole shit" button

Greg W
21-12-2007, 14:16:39
Originally posted by Tizzy
:heart::heart: Awwwwww....

Funko
21-12-2007, 14:19:18
Originally posted by C.G.B. Spender
They should add a "I don't want that whole shit" button

It wasn't installed by default. I wanted Freecell so I went and installed the games. Which is quite good.

Funko
21-12-2007, 14:50:50
I really like my speedometer gadget.

I especially like how the amount of memory you are using never decreases, even if you shut everything down.

MDA
21-12-2007, 15:08:10
that's a nice feature!

Funko
21-12-2007, 15:42:30
We've dropped 5% from 58% to 53%, so it does go down.

I wonder if I can max it out.

Funko
21-12-2007, 15:45:19
63% before it started to get silly.

Fistandantilus
21-12-2007, 16:17:36
You know you can do better than that.

Funko
21-12-2007, 16:23:14
I need to install more memory hungry applications.

Funko
21-12-2007, 16:31:13
AHA! MS office! 75% before I bottled it. Fair play though, that was all the office applications, 15 Firefoxes, 12 IEs, 2 Eclipses + some other stuff.

It dropped from 75% to it's idling amount of 54% quite quickly, so I take the previous criticism back. The idling level of memory use is high, I just didn't have enough stuff running to push it earlier.

Dyl Ulenspiegel
21-12-2007, 16:31:44
try tizzy_setup.exe

Funko
21-12-2007, 16:32:50
I don't want to get hit with Tizzy.bat


NERD!

Dyl Ulenspiegel
21-12-2007, 16:51:30
"Tizzy.bat has performed an illegal kicking operation. Funko has to be shut down immediately."

mr_B
21-12-2007, 17:08:03
NERDS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dyl Ulenspiegel
21-12-2007, 17:10:10
jesjes

Funko
03-01-2008, 15:15:00
So, for some reason my work machine was on over Christmas. I found out why today.

http://www.codinghorror.com/blog/images/vista-start-menu-3.png

The big orange power icon, the one that used to mean shut down in XP, now means "go into a power saving mode".

You have to click the sideways arrow thing next to it to get to shut down.

If you do Ctrl+Alt+Delete, to get into the menu to log off, open task manager etc, then that same icon seems to mean "do whichever shut down/restart/logoff task you did last time"

Pointless and annoying inconsistency. :bash:

C.G.B. Spender
03-01-2008, 15:21:39
This may explain why I never get a reply when I bombarded you with messages via MSN

Funko
03-01-2008, 15:25:04
Yep.

Funko
03-01-2008, 15:25:28
In fact, I sent you an offline message about that on wednesday, but Venom only just got his.

C.G.B. Spender
03-01-2008, 15:28:47
I reinstalled MSN after a few years, because the nephew of a friend has it now and wanted me to try it out.
It didn't work so I tried to contact you and you didn't reply, so I had the idea it wasn't working.

Funko
03-01-2008, 15:34:25
In fact, I was at home in bed, and the messages were 10 miles away sitting unanswered.

Thinking about it, it's also really shit that if you go into this power saving mode, it leaves Messenger logged in.

You can't even tell what it's done because the screen just fades to black really fast. Apparently to give the impression that it shuts down much faster. Stupid smoke and mirrors.

So I turned the monitors off, went home, before it cycled round to the screen saying I could log back in.

Not impressed by Vista so far. Most of the changes seem to be either purely cosmetic or things that have changed for the worse since XP.

C.G.B. Spender
03-01-2008, 15:47:32
I'm not impressed by MSN

Funko
03-01-2008, 15:49:21
It's ok, it seems no-one uses anything else these days.

C.G.B. Spender
03-01-2008, 15:51:06
I try to use Trillian, it may connect me to MSN and ICQ at the same time. If MSN would work

Tizzy
03-01-2008, 15:51:16
I can't use it any more. Damn internet police.

C.G.B. Spender
03-01-2008, 15:52:19
Try Tizzian

Tizzy
03-01-2008, 16:04:25
:lol:

Funko
03-01-2008, 16:04:53
I tried Trillian, but found it quite annoying. It didn't honour all the features of any of the messaging systems it emulated and was flakey about connecting to any of them.

MoSe
03-01-2008, 16:05:57
http://www.topofart.com/images/artists/Tiziano_Vecellio_Titian/paintings/titian003.jpg

King_Ghidra
03-01-2008, 16:45:06
this is all fascinating mike. it's like a timewarp back to when i got vista six months ago.

Funko
03-01-2008, 16:46:34
Does it get any less shit with time?

Funko
03-01-2008, 16:49:00
I was slightly surprised it had been out 6 months already, but apparently it's been nearly a year. :eek:

King_Ghidra
03-01-2008, 16:51:45
yeah actually i think i've had it longer than 6 months

i like the aero stuff, i have it turned on still. the shutdown button thing is silly, agreed.

user access control, (the thing that is making you click everything twice to install) is the devil's dick (as i stated elsewhere on this forum). i would turn it off and most of the other security crap too. i have just everything like that turned off at home and despite the fact i spend my whole life downloading p2p stuff and porn, no problems so far.

Funko
03-01-2008, 16:54:05
Yeah, at work that's all set by group policy. My boss is very close to switching it all off (after 2 working days with it).

But as the increased security is supposedly one of the benefits of Vista he's still only thinking about it at this point.

Lurker the Second
03-01-2008, 17:10:50
Originally posted by C.G.B. Spender
They should add a "I don't want that whole shit" button

That would be Windows XP.

Immortal Wombat
03-01-2008, 17:37:24
Originally posted by Funko
The big orange power icon, the one that used to mean shut down in XP, now means "go into a power saving mode".

You have to click the sideways arrow thing next to it to get to shut down.

If you do Ctrl+Alt+Delete, to get into the menu to log off, open task manager etc, then that same icon seems to mean "do whichever shut down/restart/logoff task you did last time"

You can change those behaviours as well somewhere. Power Management maybe.

Both my sister and mother bought new Vista PCs this week, and I have had a hugely unpleasant time learning how to use it and then providing tech support.

:bash: indeed

Vincent
03-01-2008, 20:56:04
I got a shortcut to execute "%windir%\SYSTEM32\shutdown.exe -s -f -t 0"
on my XP desktop. This terminates XP, it may work with Vista too.

mr_B
03-01-2008, 22:12:49
you terminator you

Vincent
03-01-2008, 22:19:23
shut down!

mr_B
03-01-2008, 22:20:22
are you general failure?

Vincent
03-01-2008, 22:45:57
nope, I am major desaster

MoSe
04-01-2008, 08:26:35
I'm justa belly buffer overflow

MOBIUS
04-01-2008, 09:22:54
My policy regarding Vista, or any new MS product for that matter, is to do nothing until all the complaining dies down, and then get it when MS have patched it up to its eyeballs.

Seems to be working so far...;)

C.G.B. Spender
04-01-2008, 09:30:12
That works perfect if you get a new PC at work ...

Funko
04-01-2008, 09:47:47
Exactly.

That said, my boss got given a discount from our suppliers otherwise he'd have waited for SP1.

C.G.B. Spender
04-01-2008, 09:49:31
Buahahaha