PDA

View Full Version : Why does Vista cost twice as much in the UK as in the US?


Funko
30-01-2007, 15:07:15
Prices for the OS in the UK range from about £100 for an upgrade version of the Basic package to £249 for a copy of the upgrade to the Ultimate version of Vista.

In the US prices start from $100 (£52) for an upgrade of Vista Home basic to $249 (£127) for the equivalent Ultimate version.

Thanks M$ Wankers.

King_Ghidra
30-01-2007, 15:11:49
exchange rate works both ways huh

Funko
30-01-2007, 15:14:49
Even if the exchange rate went back to 1.5 Vista would still be 1.5 times as expensive for exactly the same product.

Nills Lagerbaak
30-01-2007, 16:54:49
I've noticed a general rule of thumb seems to be dollar price = sterling price. so for things are always between 1.5 to 2 times cheaper in the US.

Venom
30-01-2007, 18:42:35
I've noticed that for a long time too. The times I'd be over in London shopping everything was the same number value, just that damned expensive currency.

Resource Consumer
31-01-2007, 11:31:20
Well, this will help UK productivity relative to the US. Let the Yanks do Bill's debugging for him.

Funko
31-01-2007, 11:36:06
It's mostly irrelevant as only a very tiny proportion of people (the most extreme of nerds) ever actually buy a windows upgrade.

Resource Consumer
31-01-2007, 19:38:18
Was that you I saw you queuing yesterday morning?

Funko
01-02-2007, 09:03:15
Yes, just behind Asher. :brwncard:

maroule
01-02-2007, 09:08:39
don't mean to question your sexuality, but shouldn't it be:
"just in front of Asher, looking worriedly above my shoulder" :brwncard:

Funko
01-02-2007, 09:24:44
He's a bigger nerd than me, he got there first.

Venom
01-02-2007, 12:46:07
This one is awfully tempting thatnks to DX10, but it will be a long while before I consider upgrading.

Asher
02-02-2007, 03:27:55
It's sexy and free.

Nills Lagerbaak
02-02-2007, 09:31:10
Originally posted by Funko
It's mostly irrelevant as only a very tiny proportion of people (the most extreme of nerds) ever actually buy a windows upgrade.
I'm not sure if this proves your point, but Windows genuine "advantage" almost drove me to buying a copy of windows. It got to the point where I was looking at the MS site and then the techie at work took pity on me and gave me the work copy.

Funko
02-02-2007, 10:07:38
What I mean is, the vast majority of home users just get an OEM copy of Windows preinstalled on their PC when they buy it and never upgrade or change it, and only get a new version of Windows with a new PC.

Nills Lagerbaak
02-02-2007, 10:18:54
No I meant about the geek bit :D

I think my PC came with a "questionable" copy of Windows

Funko
02-02-2007, 10:43:28
Was it brand new or second hand?

Nills Lagerbaak
02-02-2007, 11:14:07
Brand new PC from a shop on the back of a magazine. It wasn't supposed to come with any operating system (I had a copy of XP), but it already came with XP.

Funko
02-02-2007, 11:16:59
Ok, so basically they pre-installed it, but didn't provide the licence key because you said you had one and didn't want to pay for it. But you didn't have a legitimate copy?

JM^3
02-02-2007, 11:22:28
I have legal copies of:
Windows 95
Windows 98
Windows 2000
Windows XP Pro
Windows XP Tablet

Windows 95 and Windows XP Tablet are OEM/? copies that came with computers.

Windows 98 was a free upgrade (OEM I think).

Windows 2000 and Windows XP Pro were purchased by me for various reasons, basically because I wanted to own them. I don't buy desktops, I build them. The two Windows I got with machines came on laptops.

Jon Miller
(I also have at least one more copy of windows, a Beta XP 64bit)

Nills Lagerbaak
02-02-2007, 11:28:10
Originally posted by Funko
Ok, so basically they pre-installed it, but didn't provide the licence key because you said you had one and didn't want to pay for it. But you didn't have a legitimate copy?

Nah, they weren't supposed to install it so I didn't question the lack of license key.

Anyway it's all sorted now, my nifty little XP key changer does the job :D

Nills Lagerbaak
02-02-2007, 11:29:11
Originally posted by JM^3
I have legal copies of:
Windows 95
Windows 98
Windows 2000
Windows XP Pro
Windows XP Tablet

Windows 95 and Windows XP Tablet are OEM/? copies that came with computers.

Windows 98 was a free upgrade (OEM I think).

Windows 2000 and Windows XP Pro were purchased by me for various reasons, basically because I wanted to own them. I don't buy desktops, I build them. The two Windows I got with machines came on laptops.

Jon Miller
(I also have at least one more copy of windows, a Beta XP 64bit)




"only...the most extreme of nerds..."

JM^3
02-02-2007, 11:35:47
Yeah, there is actually a decent chance I will buy Vista.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/windowsvista/features/details/tabletpc.mspx

JM

King_Ghidra
02-02-2007, 11:52:37
i may buy a new pc with vista on today. been waiting to get a dual core/vista combo.

MESH Elite E6700 Vistra Pro G80
PC Pro Multi Award Winner - March 2007
Genuine Windows® Vista Home Premium
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo E6700 Processor
(2.66GHz ,4MB L2 Cache, 1066MHz)
ASUS Deluxe Mainboard-nForce 680i SLI
2048MB DDR2 900MHz Memory
640GB (2x320) Serial ATA Hard Drive
640MB nVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS
22" Iiyama Widescreen TFT (DVI, 5ms)
2x Sony 18x Super Format DVD Writer
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
etc.

£1500 inc VAT

Funko
02-02-2007, 13:43:00
That's a pretty awesome spec machine.

Nav
03-02-2007, 00:34:03
Cool spec but sounds like the hard drive would be RAID 0. = I want my hard drive to fuckup and lose all my data. Go for RAID 1 for secure data, or just have it as two separate hd's.

Btw it might be cheaper to go for a non SLI motherboard if you don't intend to run two gfx cards.

Oh and I got Vista, 1 I was depressed (see addiction thread), 2 my existing copy of windows had run out of activations, I had to hack it to get it to work and it was crashing 1 out of every 3 startups.

Now if only the harddrive activity would stop, I'd be really happy. Wait, it did after about 10 minutes...

MattHiggs
03-02-2007, 08:54:30
I've been testing Vista at work for a few weeks. I'd stay well away for a while; it's as buggy as hell and really frustrating. Looks nice though.

Asher
04-02-2007, 06:37:19
Haven't encountered any bugs myself.

MattHiggs
04-02-2007, 12:55:41
Loading Media Centre is dreadful. The playback is really choppy at times, everything just seems to be running like treacle and, when playing video, certain parts of the are really pixelated at times.

The Aero system looks nice but it decides to crash after about 15 seconds of use.

Venom
04-02-2007, 13:41:40
I've heard of several people complaining about crappy video playback.

Nav
04-02-2007, 15:19:19
I've had relatively few problems. Matt are you using the latest version? Media center works really well on my PC and is dead quick.

uPnP on utorrent doesn't work (not sure if this is a general thing or just on that app).

VLC doesn't work, it won't play videos. (However found an alternate called GOM for now). MIght go to the lengths of installing separate codecs to get video working in media player/center

Had one crash, however windows update said it had restarted, something else said vista bluescreened. Problem hasn't recurred yet.

Happy with the experience so far, seems more 'together' than XP.

King_Ghidra
05-02-2007, 09:35:01
Originally posted by Asher
Haven't encountered any bugs myself.

Unpredictable post of the year!

MDA
05-02-2007, 11:51:08
mmm, treacle

Sir Penguin
19-02-2007, 19:11:47
Originally posted by Nills Lagerbaak
I've noticed a general rule of thumb seems to be dollar price = sterling price. so for things are always between 1.5 to 2 times cheaper in the US.
There are two reasons for that:

1. It costs more to implement European region coding, and
2. Food is cheaper over there.

SP

Sir Penguin
19-02-2007, 19:17:52
Vista RTM is a lot better than RC2. It's way more stable on my computer. The icons look good (except for Windows Media Player, which looks like ass at 16x16 pixels), and the sounds are considerably less obnoxious. I haven't used Media Centre yet.

SP

Resource Consumer
21-02-2007, 09:08:49
Originally posted by Sir Penguin
Vista RTM is a lot better than RC2.
SP

:(

bested by a chicken

Nav
21-02-2007, 10:38:22
I download a lot of TV from the states so Media center is great. I've even bought a remote control.

Having some problems with Catalyst control centre not remembering profiles and occasionally not starting, hopefully that will be fixed in a future update, but apart from that everything is working smooth.

Spartak
18-03-2007, 15:39:48
I'm still running win2k at home. Does that make me sad?

King_Ghidra
19-03-2007, 09:38:38
Of course.


My vista experience has been fine so far with one exception, i have loads of problems in games with the keyboard. sometimes the cursor keys lock up and jam in one direction. other times the shift key or something seems to be permanently depressed.

i've been through all the keyboard and accessability settings a thousand times but it's nothing to do with any of those settings. very frustrating when i'm trying to wtfpwn some noob in cs:s.