PDA

View Full Version : F**king estate agents

Beta1
16-05-2006, 15:17:40
Me and girlf are trying to rent a flat in solihull - after taking a deposit the agents are now trying to make out we are not suitable tenants because I am a student and she is unemployed...

Back in reality I'm not some cheapskate undergrad- I'm a trainee teacher and being paid to do that and my girlfriend is not unemployed she has a contract to start her job in birmingham on the 6th of june and has taken two weeks off to move up there!

Not to mention the fact that her salary alone could pay the rent twice over and I have enough cash in my account to pay the first 6 months rent up front.

FFS - we both have Doctorates and we own a flat in london already - do we sound like crap tenants?

I'm going to phone them up and beat them round the head with a wad of cash until they submit

Funko
16-05-2006, 15:19:03
Normally they charge you a fortune for this very basic background check as well, and if you fail for any reason they just ask for a guarantor.

King_Ghidra
16-05-2006, 15:21:26
:lol:@the student scrounger and the dole monkey

Funko
16-05-2006, 15:22:41
If you filled in the form with "unemployed" for your gf rather than with her new job as a reference, that was silly. :D

Japher
16-05-2006, 15:24:27
i wouldn't rent to you Beta1... you sound like a rent dodger to me

Beta1
16-05-2006, 15:25:09
Originally posted by Funko
If you filled in the form with "unemployed" for your gf rather than with her new job as a reference, that was silly. :D

She didnt - she put her new employers and her starting date and included the details for her previous employer as a reference

Funko
16-05-2006, 15:26:12
They are clearly twatheads then.

Beta1
16-05-2006, 15:49:56
girlf beat me to it - she offered them two months rent in advance and suddenly all problems vanished.

JM^3
16-05-2006, 16:16:53
That is similiar to what I did. The rental people have certain forms they have to follow...

JM

Funko