PDA

View Full Version : How to play EVE poll....


JM^3
31-01-2006, 16:11:58
How can I play EVE?

MattHiggs
31-01-2006, 16:21:43
I couldn't handle a 56K connection. I'd end up kicking a hole in the computer!

Venom
31-01-2006, 16:27:32
Ummmm the best plan by far is to tough it out until cable (unless that's like 6 months away). Second best is laptop and coffee shop. 3rd best is a satellite connection. 4th best is dial up.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
31-01-2006, 16:53:32
Find someone wih an open 802.1g connection nearby and leech their bandwidth with wireless. You may need a range extender for that, see Pringles can antenna.

Centara Fugue
31-01-2006, 18:20:33
I'm actually with Qaj here. I recall being upset when people were leeching our bandwidth at the old house, but it was because they were using some programs that were eating up our upload and making our connection crappy. If you leech responsibly, the person should only be able to tell you're there if they actually go and look at their access point's configuration screen, and many people don't do that very often. I'd recommend against using any file-sharing stuff unless you can be absolutely sure it won't hinder their connection and cause them to shut you down. Games don't use much bandwidth and won't be noticeable, in general.

My $0.02

Centara Fugue
31-01-2006, 18:22:13
As for which of your options I'd go with...

1 Get a laptop
2 Get a phone line and modem

With preference toward 1. I've done 2... not sure how well games will work with it tho.

Venom
31-01-2006, 18:26:14
The laptop and coffee shop option would also let you do the bandwitdh leaching option.

Centara Fugue
31-01-2006, 19:20:45
Which reminds me...

I meant to mention the idea of borrowing someone's laptop and testing to see if you can see any wireless networks from your apartment. If you find an active access point that you can connect to, go buy yourself a wireless card for your desktop machine and you're up and running.

Having a laptop of your own, though; that's the real ticket, since even if you can't leech a connection, you can just go to the coffeeshop more.

Snotty
31-01-2006, 23:48:01
I can pick up wireless networks and see if they are encrypted on my nintendo DS with mario kart game, in case thats easier to borrow from somewhere

JM^3
01-02-2006, 00:03:27
my PSP has WI-FI capability

it doesn't detect any networks..

JM

JM^3
01-02-2006, 00:04:05
What laptop would be good to get?

Preferibly it could paly Civ4 also.

JM

JM^3
01-02-2006, 00:13:35
Only one person has voted...

JM

Venom
01-02-2006, 00:43:52
I voted with words.

And look at clever Centara, and avatar of the skill training.

Venom
01-02-2006, 00:44:53
Also, you'll probably need a hoss of a laptop to play Civ 4.

MattHiggs
01-02-2006, 09:35:33
For gaming you want something like this (or similair specification):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16834115196

Acer TravelMate TM4402WLMi AMD Turion 64 ML-30(1.6GHz) 15.4" Wide XGA 512MB 100GB DVD Super Multi Double Layer ATI Mobility RADEON X700 NoteBook - Retail

Communication: Modem, Gigabit LAN and WLAN
CPU Type: 1 x AMD Turion 64 Mobile Technology ML-30
Graphics Card: ATI MOBILITY RADEON X700 graphics
Hard Disk: 100GB
Memory Size: 512MB (512/0) DDR333 SDRAM
Operating System: Windows XP Professional
Optical Drive: DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive
Part#: LX.T7806.023
Screen: 15.4" WXGA TFT

This is a great laptop and even has 3 hours battery life, which isn't bad considering the spec.

Venom
01-02-2006, 13:09:48
Don't ever buy an Acer though.

MattHiggs
01-02-2006, 13:43:15
I've had good experiences with them so I can recommend them.

Venom
01-02-2006, 13:48:14
I've had 2, and they both sucked.

JM^3
01-02-2006, 23:34:33
I still favor IBM laptops, for some reason

I also like the really small ones.. but they just have integrated video cards (or are apple)

do you think EVE could play on integrated video?

JM

Venom
02-02-2006, 01:10:56
I don't know what EVE's exact specs are, so it's tough to say.

JM^3
02-02-2006, 01:36:09
it says min is Geforce 2

JM

Venom
02-02-2006, 04:37:50
Then no.

MattHiggs
02-02-2006, 07:50:09
Eve played very well on my laptop with Intel 900 graphics card. It played with no slowdown on 1024 * 768.

Venom
02-02-2006, 13:04:09
Then yes.

Centara Fugue
02-02-2006, 22:30:37
Hey Jon,

I spent some time today looking for some video card benchmarks, and I found some. Tricky it is to find benchmarks that compare desktop systems to laptops, and it's hard to find benchmarks of built-in graphics at all, but I found some.

First off, though, the minimum requirements for EVE and Civ4 are as follows:

EVE:
GeForce 2/Radeon 7200

Civ4:
GeForce 2/Radeon 7500

Haha! So basically the requirements are the same. Now for some benchmarks.

First, here's a bunch of benchmarks for Doom III

Doom3 1 (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2005/05/11/intel_915gm/page9.html) Note: look at the 2nd graph. It shows performance of an onboard graphics chip in Doom3. The first graph is for Quake3. Also notice that they're running in ultra-low resolution.
Doom3 2 (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2005/08/15/the_world/page10.html)
Doom3 3 (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2005/02/24/dell_xps_gen2_with_geforce_go_6800_ultra/page8.html)

Now, here are some comparisons between laptop and desktop graphics cards

Laptop/Desktop 1 (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2005/02/24/dell_xps_gen2_with_geforce_go_6800_ultra/page7.html)
Laptop/Desktop 2 (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2004/07/27/desktop_graphics_ambitions/page10.html)

And here are some comparisons among various mobile chips

Mobile 1 (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2004/11/08/geforce_go_6800_reaches_for_desktop_graphics_perfo rmance/page10.html) Damn link messes up for some reason, too long?
http://www.mobilityguru.com/2004/11/08/geforce_go_6800_reaches_for_desktop_graphics_perfo rmance/page10.html
How much better is X1600 compared to X700? (http://www.mobilityguru.com/2005/12/05/ati_mobility_radeon_x1600/page11.html)

Well, that may be too much info. Of particular interest is the first group, all Doom3 stuff. One of those lists the performance for one of the intel chipsets. If you go with something other than ATI or NVidia for your graphics, and you want to play games, you will be sorry. That said, there are lots of options on the market from those two companies, and you should be able to find something a little more affordable if you're willing to sacrifice some performance. If you don't want to play games, go with whatever. I know, though, that one of the points is to play games, and as such, I recommend one with a nice graphics card in it.

Nav
02-02-2006, 23:02:30
That's a bit of a poor post, you could have at least made some effort! jeez!

Venom
03-02-2006, 00:31:07
Can you research a car loan for me? Thanks.

JM^3
03-02-2006, 01:28:41
I looked at a few here:

http://www.counterglow.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=32810

I lean sort of towards IBMs..

JM

JM^3
03-02-2006, 02:02:46
Cvi4 is known to not run smoothly on a 7500, and doesn't even work on many of them.

JM

Centara Fugue
03-02-2006, 03:33:59
Originally posted by JM^3
Cvi4 is known to not run smoothly on a 7500, and doesn't even work on many of them.

JM

Hmmm,

Well, so we can't trust those minimum requirements, eh? That's often true I think, but maybe in Civ's case they were a bit optimistic when they put down those minimum reqs. Usually the game will at least run, though not well, with the minimum system. I remember making unreal (not tournament, the original unreal) run on a pentium I 133MHz. It was so slow compared to quake, and it was only really playable at 640x480 with all lighting effects turned off, and only then in indoor areas, but it definitely worked. This was on a voodoo banshee i believe (remember those?). Oh, the nostalgia...

Back on topic, those ibm laptops you listed in your post appear to have something called an ATI mobility x300, whereas the ones in the benchmarks I saw were all x700+. I'll look for some benchmark results for the x300 sometime, to see how it compares with the baseline-but-unacceptable radeon 7500. It's bound to be better; the 7500 was before ATI really started trying as far as graphics were concerned.

JM^3
03-02-2006, 03:46:25
yeah, 7500 is crap for an ATI card *but the first that was competent

I played Civ2 on a 486 DX 33 with 8 MB of ram...

Actually, it looks like I had the minimum:

CDROM 2

CPU 486/33

RAM 8

I played wheel of time:
Minimum Requirements:
P200 MMX
32 MB RAM
500 megs hard drive space

on my laptop (266, no graphics card, maybe 64 MB of ram?)

Jon Miller

Centara Fugue
03-02-2006, 04:07:59
There it is.

Found a benchmark (notice I like Tom's Hardware as a benchmarking site; mobilityguru is an offshoot of Tom's). This one has the X300 alongside some of the ones in the other benchmarks I've posted, albeit a desktop rather than a mobile version.

X300 in the mix (http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/02/08/nvidia_geforce_6200_turbocache/page12.html)
and again (http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/05/24/vga_charts_vi/page8.html)

How does it look? Doesn't do terribly well, but isn't the worst of the bunch, either. I am having a really hard time finding a benchmark with all the cards compared, primarily because of the time-separation between when the different cards appeared on the market.

Anyway, that's all for me for now. Seems like an X300 might work. It seems to come out about 2 or 3 times better than the onboard video in the tests they're running. Then again, the onboard video is teh suck.

Sir Penguin
03-02-2006, 05:28:28
The X300 will work just fine.

SP

Centara Fugue
03-02-2006, 18:15:42
Originally posted by MattHiggs
Eve played very well on my laptop with Intel 900 graphics card. It played with no slowdown on 1024 * 768.

Based on that, I'm inclined to agree with Sir Penguin (and MattHiggs, of course), at least for EVE. I think, too, that the X300 is above the minimum bar for Civ4. Have you had a chance to check the Civ4 boards?

JM^3
03-02-2006, 18:23:03
Will do so now. I did find some Toshiba and Dell laptops with decent video cards. You can't get the gaming ones at a decent price.. See other thread.

JM