PDA

View Full Version : New Graphics card = windows shutdown


Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 10:28:17
Please help.

I recently installed a new graphics card (GeForce 6200v 256MB) . I started my computer up and launched Farcry. I cranked the quality on everything up to high and it ran like a dream. No gliches and smooth as a baby's bottom.

Then I tried out Doom 3. Again, much better performance than I had previously been getting.

Then I tried farcry again, it launched, I loaded a saved game, but then the first in game screen caused the PC to bluescreen with the words "Windows had to shut down to avoid damage to your system" !!! WTF? Also a countdown the caused the computer to restart after 100. (So I didn't even have time to read the whole message)


Has anyone else encountered a windows shutdown like this, why is it doind it and how can I avoid it?

I didn't "remove hardware" before "adding new hardware" so I might try the whole process again....



Thanks

Gary
14-09-2005, 10:50:09
Weird. "damage to your system" ? Sounds like 2 things plugged in to the same place and competing as to whether 0s or 1s are on the bus, maybe ?

Sorry, don't really know, just thinking out loud. "Removing hardware" has to be a good start though. Might stop any contention that your plug & pray isn't sorting out automatically.

Gary
14-09-2005, 10:52:42
Might be worth checking the interupt settings etc.. Or I could be barking up the wrong tree.

To detour even further, the power supply is up to the task isn't it ? No overloaded rails anywhere ?

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 10:56:32
Interupt settings, overloaded ralis? How do I test them.

The graphics card is powerd by the PCI slot so I can't see how it needs more power than the last card.

I recently installed a DVD burner too, and I didn't check whether that was on Salve mode. Might have to recheck that.


Thanks!

Gary
14-09-2005, 11:08:23
Power supplies ? Shove a meter on and check them while running (being careful not to short anything out). Or sometimes the BIOS will tell you, if the monitoring circuits are working properly.

Interrupts ? You know I've wandered into Start/Setting/Control Panel/System/Hardware/Device Manager/ and suddenly realise I'm not sure ! Been too long away from this stuff. Have to get back to you about that, although someone else will probably tell you before I spot it.

Err... yeah, best to do one change at a time if possible. Helps isolate the problem area. Can you take the new DVD drive out for a while and see if the problem goes away ?

Gary
14-09-2005, 11:12:29
Device Manager, view, resources by type

Scan the IRQ settings and see if there's anything that looks like a clash, I guess.

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 11:13:56
ah thanks! I get the feeling I'm gonna need a nerd to come round and sort it though....

King_Ghidra
14-09-2005, 11:50:13
are you sure the grahics card is wired up for power correctly?

my current card doesn't just sit in the pci slot it is also connected to the PSU

you should be able to tell, are there any wires coming out of the card that you haven't got plugged in anywhere?

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 11:56:21
Well, I was expecting the card to need external power (I don't know what made me think that), but there are no lose wires hanging out. The damn thing didn't come with an installation manual.

protein
14-09-2005, 12:35:16
Not that I know anything.

It could be a heat issue. I got the same message when I changed my clock speed once.

MDA
14-09-2005, 12:37:22
how much voltage on your power supply?

the new card is probably a power hog compared to the old. Most of the newer ones are.

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 12:42:33
Hmm, will check... although I would have thought there'd be ample slack in the system. The old graphics card was only about 14 months old.

The new one isn't a super charged one either, no fan or nothing....

MDA
14-09-2005, 12:58:53
it may not be your problem, but it frequently is a problem

doesn't sound like much difference in age for the 2 cards, so its less likely in your case

protein
14-09-2005, 13:10:28
If you go to the manufacturer's website (get the newest drvers while you are there) you can see if there are any known issues.

Gary
14-09-2005, 13:53:03
May well find the manual there too, if not try Googling for it.

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 14:03:26
Surely the latest drivers would be on the CD that came with the card.....

Don't think there are any new driviers, but will check for known issues. Cheers

MDA
14-09-2005, 14:43:27
depends on how long ago the card was packaged

Venom
14-09-2005, 15:09:35
What's the error code on the blue screen? You can try googling the error code and see what the online nerds and/or microsoft say.

Nav
14-09-2005, 15:19:43
drivers for graphics cards are always updated, therefore drivers on CD are always out of date.

Sir Penguin
14-09-2005, 15:52:06
Your video card may need a fan.

SP

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 16:01:18
I would have thought the video card would have come with a fan if it needed it! It's got a huge heat sink on it....

Will write down the error message and throw it to the nerds.

Venom
14-09-2005, 16:18:23
Focus on the hexidecimal error code if you don't have time to get the majority of it.

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 16:20:44
Ah! good thinking, don't go for the English, rather engage the Nerds in their own language - brilliant!

protein
14-09-2005, 16:35:02
001101011001010
101001101101001
010001101010001

Gary
14-09-2005, 16:42:10
Heard it before

Nills Lagerbaak
14-09-2005, 16:43:47
Originally posted by protein
001101011001010
101001101101001
010001101010001 :brwncard:

Vincent
14-09-2005, 22:34:44
Originally posted by Nills Lagerbaak
"Windows had to shut down to avoid damage to your system" !!! WTF? Also a countdown the caused the computer to restart after 100. (So I didn't even have time to read the whole message)
Thanks Got the same sometimes. The reason is in NVSOMTHING.DLL, blah bla. Got a GF6600 GT. Some driver problem, I guess

Nav
15-09-2005, 09:22:10
Does seem like overheating to me. Maybe your system isn't very well cooled. Get an extra fan in there or install a refridgerator unit.

Nills Lagerbaak
15-09-2005, 10:07:10
Well, I sorted it.
The error satared with something like
"Driver IRQL not greater or less than" can't remember exactly.

Anywhoo I deinstalled the driver completely and reinstalled. I also noticed that the DVD RW was set to Master which would have conflicted with the harddrive. So I don't know which one solved the problem, but now I can see the beautiful tidal effects in farcry perfectly! Woo!


Now. Does anyone want to buy an Asus CDRW and old Magic GeForce 9250 card?!

MattHiggs
15-09-2005, 12:00:52
GeForce 9250?

I don't think there is such a thing.