View Full Version : London needs a new bridge,

03-06-2005, 05:06:06
so Dyl, go your corridor.

03-06-2005, 06:21:37

03-06-2005, 10:55:41
Damn you Dyl, are you reading boring legal stuff again.
Go out and sell a bridge

Dyl Ulenspiegel
03-06-2005, 11:00:16
Hey, I tried. But they do not like dutch bridges. :(

03-06-2005, 11:11:04
"a software malfunction"?

what the fuck? this thing works smoothly for hundreds of years and there's a "software malfunction"?

Dyl Ulenspiegel
03-06-2005, 11:20:12
Microsoft Bridgdos

Nills Lagerbaak
03-06-2005, 11:23:19
Perfect opportunity to jump a london bus over it!

03-06-2005, 11:24:54
i saw a great program on bbc2 a few months back about how the mechanism works. The presenter was walking around inside and showing these huge bits of machinery as they moved, it was very cool.

03-06-2005, 11:25:53
there were similar programs about big ben and the forth bridge and suchlike. Can't remember the program name, the presenter was some lisping toff professor type

Nills Lagerbaak
03-06-2005, 11:34:06
I think I saw it too. There was a great bit where he was standing in the "anchorage" room of the severn bridge. He held his ear up to the cables and said summit lime "oooo you can almost hear the tension"

03-06-2005, 11:35:40
I saw quite a lot of that series it was pretty good (in a well there's nothing else on at that time and it tends to be when I'm having my dinner so it'll do kind of way)

I think it was something like Britain's Best Buildings.

ah, here we go:


03-06-2005, 11:39:46
Note for Mr G - no mention of the Lloyds building there.

That site only shows 4 buildings but I'm sure I remember Westminster Palace, the Forth Bridge, the Circus (in Bath?) and some other places. Maybe that was a different show with the same guy.

03-06-2005, 11:40:56

Two series of the show.


Harlech Castle
Hardwick Hall
The Circus
Forth Bridge
Palace of Westminster

Provost Harrison
03-06-2005, 12:05:34
Yeah, Tower Bridge doesn't seem to have been in operation for ages now. Although strange you mention it but they are planning to build a new bridge across the Thames: Thames Gateway Bridge...not far from where I or Tizzy live...it is amazing that there is only two Thames crossings in the whole of the Eastern part of London (between Tower Bridge and Dartford Crossing)...

03-06-2005, 12:16:30
It's still in operation but not very regularly used as there aren't so many big boats going up the thames anymore.

If it wasn't in operation how would it break yesterday. :lol:

Provost Harrison
03-06-2005, 12:17:58
Note the word 'seem'...I know it was out of action for most of May...

03-06-2005, 12:19:29
No, I will not note it.

Provost Harrison
03-06-2005, 12:21:00

03-06-2005, 12:24:40
Noting of the word "seem" by Funko Status: NOT NOTED

Provost Harrison
03-06-2005, 12:28:12

03-06-2005, 12:34:00
Originally posted by mr.G
http://www.channel4.com/news/content/news-storypage.jsp?id=1981702 I love the MS Office commercial in there.

Provost Harrison
03-06-2005, 12:38:44
It's not particularly subtly placed, is it?

03-06-2005, 12:40:33
hmmmmm they didnīt mentioned that refinery in neo/gothic style

03-06-2005, 12:47:57
do you know how to sing this? i play it when i was a kid :p

london bridge is falling down (3x)
london bridge is falling down my first lady...
what do you want:
dyl sell a bridge or funko note the word "seem"?
:lol: :lol: :lol:

03-06-2005, 12:51:16
first lady?

03-06-2005, 13:01:38
i'm glad yang has at least given up any pretense that it isn't an ae now

03-06-2005, 13:38:40
I like her a lot better this way.

03-06-2005, 13:44:48
Didn't we all.

Lazarus and the Gimp
03-06-2005, 15:07:17
Originally posted by Funko
the Circus (in Bath?)

Yep- it's in Bath. I'm surprised they didn't pick the Royal Crescent out of Bath's glories.

03-06-2005, 15:08:50
He mentioned it in the show I'm sure but he definitely convinced me of The Circus' value, if just for all the interesting Masonic stuff in the architecture.