PDA

View Full Version : The ToryGraph, pensum on national identities

maroule
13-05-2005, 15:55:44
I still read the Torygraph on occasions, thinking that it must have embraced some kind of modernism, after all these years, and then I find this type of editorial. This is the Sun's philophy, only wordier... Interesting, in a way, because it shows this type of thinking will probably never go away, and is not linked to the proximity (more and more remote) of WWII, but to the way these people define their identity and self worth (in Britain on this question and in the rest of the world on each country's particular agenda).

Interstingly, the author doesn't adress his 'young collegue' opinion, which to me is the center of the debate about national feelings.

We keep on mentioning the war because we treasure our freedom
By Tom Utley
(Filed: 13/05/2005)

During my gap year, 30 years ago, I worked as a barman and waiter in a hotel in the north of France, whose patron was fiercely proud of all things French, and contemptuous of everything British. One evening at dinner, after he had gone on for even longer than usual about our national hopelessness as lovers and our disgusting habit of eating jam with our meat (he was thinking of redcurrant jelly and cranberry sauce), my patience snapped and I made the cheap and obvious point: "Who liberated you in 1944?"

He was ready for that one. "The Canadians," he replied, triumphantly.

"Oh yes?" I said. "And where did they come from, to liberate you?"

"From French Canada," he said.