PDA

View Full Version : Post Your PC Specs


Christoph
20-02-2005, 00:07:51
Just curious to see what you lot have.

My rig:

Case
http://img160.exs.cx/img160/8144/pccase6hg.jpg

40x CDRR
10x DVD ROM
FDD
1x 80GB HDD
2x 128MB (256MB, with another 2 slots left)
AMD Duron 1.3Ghz (overclocked to 1.8Ghz)
SiS Mobo (Can't remember chipset)
ATI Radeon 9800SE 256mb
Microsoft Windows XP Pro SP2
Optical Mouse (great for drawing with)
17" Monitor with w&b stickers.
MSI Starcam with built in mic.



I'm getting rid of my old Duron and replacing it with an AMD Athlon 3000+.

What about you lot?

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
20-02-2005, 00:17:35
I would have posted "Duron? Ha ha ha!" but you're getting rid of it, so good call there.

Are you sure that's your machine? Looks like you took a photo of it through someone's bedroom window in the dead of the night.

You need more memory, and a bigger HDD. And a DVD +-RW. And probably a better mobo, unless your mobo is really cool but you're just using the duron as a stopgap.

MattHiggs
20-02-2005, 00:31:05
My PC needs a new graphics card, still got a GeForce 3

Venom
20-02-2005, 01:58:12
3.4 p4
1GB RAM (533MHz of course. suck it Funko)
120GB HD
256MB Nvidia 6800 GT
16X DVD-RW
48x CD-ROM
19" Flat panel

Man. I just love saying that now.

The Mad Monk
20-02-2005, 02:18:42
suck it Funko?

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
20-02-2005, 02:20:17
Only 120Gig HDD Venom? Tiny! *points and laughs*

The Mad Monk
20-02-2005, 02:45:08
Athlon 64 3200+
Asus KV8 se Deluxe motherboard
1 Gb Corsair DDR PC3200 memory
2 Western Digital Special Edition 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drives, Model WD800JB
Antec TrueBlue 480W power supply
Generic DVD burner
Radeon 9600 XT AIW
Aspire X-Superalien Tower Case

Sir Penguin
20-02-2005, 02:57:24
Athlon XP 2500+
Asus A7N8X-Deluxe
512 MB CAS2 PC3200 RAM (2256 MB, need more)
230 GB 7200 RPM hard drives
GeForce4 Ti4200 graphics card, 128 MB RAM (need a new one)
Floppy drive (3.5")
52-32-52 CDRW (starting to break)
Antec LANBoy case

SP

Venom
20-02-2005, 05:23:31
Originally posted by The Mad Monk
suck it Funko?

Wait, what were your specs again?

Oh that's right, you didn't say anything pertinent. Shut the fuck up.

The Mad Monk
20-02-2005, 07:36:49
Originally posted by The Mad Monk
Athlon 64 3200+
Asus KV8 se Deluxe motherboard
1 Gb Corsair DDR PC3200 memory
2 Western Digital Special Edition 80GB 7200RPM IDE Hard Drives, Model WD800JB
Antec TrueBlue 480W power supply
Generic DVD burner
Radeon 9600 XT AIW
Aspire X-Superalien Tower Case

:hmm:

zmama
20-02-2005, 09:53:17
I have crap...four heaps of

But they're all running and playing well with each other

JM^3
20-02-2005, 11:29:12
Althon AMD 64 3500+
1 GB ram
~36 GB Raptor (10k SATA)
~160 GB Seagate
x800 pro ATI
DVD burner (sony or something)
a decent antec case and power supply

Jon Miller

Drekkus
20-02-2005, 21:59:50
Antec case
Asus AV8 Deluxe
AMD 64 3200+
512 MB corsair pc 3200 DDR 400 (upgrade next week to 1 gig)
Ati Radeon 9700 Pro
40 GB Hitachi
250 GB Maxtor
48x CDRW
Nec 16x DVD +/- RW
Hauppage WinTV PVR350

17" Hitachi TFT
Altec Lansing 2.1 sound system
plus some nice Zalman coolers.

Question, is a 350W powersupply enough for this system?

Venom
20-02-2005, 22:10:50
Prepare to spend all your money on baby. No more on toys.

zmama
20-02-2005, 22:20:16
If its a good powersupply...it should be ok.
If building new, I'd get a bigger one but it should do. That isn't one of those power hog vid cards

DevilsH@lo
21-02-2005, 00:32:15
Asus Dual Athlon MP Motherboard on board sound CMI something or other.
Dual Athlon XP 2400
1 Gig Kingston Ram
120 Gig Maxtor ata drive + 160 Gb Icy Box USB2 Drive (for file swapping)
160 gig raid array (4x40Gb Deskstars)
Plextor DVD-/+ r/rw Drive
Samsung DVD Rom
Ati Radeon 6800
Dual 17" Dell TFT's
Microsoft Wireless Keyboard and Optical Mouse

and

MSI toss Socket A Motherboard
XP 2400
512 Kingston Ram
Geforce 4000 ti128 ddr
40 Gig HDD
No name DVD
Creative SB Platinum

Drekkus
21-02-2005, 12:09:33
Originally posted by Venom
Prepare to spend all your money on baby. No more on toys. That's why I'm getting updated now. That and my golfset, so i can go without extra costs for a while. :D

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
22-02-2005, 21:35:32
Hey, I have 15 dependents, and can still buy toys. Sure, they go without food and clothing some weeks, but I consider that a fair price to pay.

Darkstar
22-02-2005, 22:24:37
Originally posted by Venom
Prepare to spend all your money on baby. No more on toys.

That's not QUITE true. He'll quickly learn the fatherly skill of buying his child "toys", and then playing with them. Then he can move on to the "exclusive" skilling, where he buys his child(ren) expensive/collector "toys", and they don't get to play with them because they'd damage/ruin them.

But it will take a few years for them to get old enough to use as a suitable excuse. ;)

Golf? He should be selling off his golf equipment on eBay. It's going to be years before he gets time off to go golfing. If his wife is smarter then him, anyways. ;)

MDA
23-02-2005, 17:22:21
Pentium 4 1.8 MHz with 512 MB of some kind of memory
80 GB hard drive
DVD player
CD-R/RW
ATI Radeon 9600
Soundblaster Audigy 2 of some kind
21" LCD monitor, and no I haven't noticed any ghosting on the rare occasions I play FPS.

Soon to upgrade, preserving the monitor, soundcard, and MAYBE the video, but I'm probably going to go PCI Express, because SP says it rocks. In that case I'll try to get an X700 Radeon.

MDA
23-02-2005, 17:23:06
...and yes, I was saying SOON to upgrade last year at about this time.

HelloKitty
23-02-2005, 17:30:27
Athlon 64 3200+
Nvidia 6800 256 Gt
120 gig HD
2 gig ram
Dvd burner
second DVD player
ummm...
nostromo n52
big ass flat screen.

Deacon
24-02-2005, 08:24:07
Fun components:

MSI Neo-V (Intel 848P)
Intel Celeron 2.4 GHz
1 GB DDR 333 MHz
Antec True430 430W
Antec SLK2600AMB
Seagate 80GB 7200RPM
Viewsonic A90 19" CRT
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard
Microsoft Wheel Mouse Optical
Lite-On 16x DVD-ROM
Lite-On DVD +/- R/W (DVD+R9 capable)
Floppy drive
ATI Radeon 9000
Aopen FM56-SVV V.92 modem

And fun peripherals:

ADS DVD Xpress USB video capture
Netgear MA111 USB 802.11b wireless network adapter

And fun software:

Windows 2000 Professional, Linux (from scratch, of course)

Sure, it's a wimpy machine, but long compilations or big video/audio encoding jobs eventually finish. Old games fly. :)

The DVD Xpress only does video capture to MPEG-2, but it does that one thing well. The DVD authoring software that's bundled with it does an acceptable job, but it had trouble writing correct VOBs based on the MPEG I captured from a very nasty low-quality long-play VHS tape that was showing signs of mechanical breakdown.

protein
24-02-2005, 11:24:23
Motherboard 1 x AGP Pro
Chipset Intel Springdale 865PE-L (pro tools certified)
Pentium 4 - 3.2 GHz
Memory 1Gb PC 3200 Non-Registered DDR
Seagate Barracuda 120 Gb Serial ATA-[150] 7200 RPM Ultra Quiet IDE
DVD-RW/CD-RW
Graphics Card ATI AGP Pro
1x Firewire IEEE1394 Port
6 x USB 2.0 Ports
Power Supply ATX Quiet 300 W
Keyboard Wireless
Mouse Wireless Optical
2 x 17" monitors
Firewire connection to Digidesign 002 rack and a Behringer Ultragain PRO-8 Digital ADA8000
One flashing blue light, one flashing green light and one flashing red light.
http://media.venda.com/dv247/ebiz/digitalvillage/invt/20827/20827_m.jpg

miester gandertak
24-02-2005, 12:57:08
gandertak inc.

http://www.edubridge.com/museum/old_computer.jpg

Venom
24-02-2005, 13:49:21
Probably has a shit video card.

King_Ghidra
24-02-2005, 15:53:59
http://www.oberoncompany.com/Images/IMAGE.GIF

http://www.oberoncompany.com/OBEnglsh/ImageCob.html

JM^3
24-02-2005, 15:55:54
Pentium 4 1.8 MHz

:wow:

I would suggest doing so right away

JM

Asher
24-02-2005, 16:18:19
My main desktop PC:

Athlon 64 3200+
2GB DDR400 CAS2
Asus K8V Deluxe
SB Audigy 2
Antec Sonata case ("quiet" case)
Zalman "noiseless" VGA/CPU coolers
Radeon 9800 Pro (flashed to Radeon 9800 XT) 256MB
2x120GB SATA RAID0 (240GB total)
2x160GB SATA (media storage)
1x80GB PATA (pr0n storage)
Date of birth: September 2003

My laptop:

IBM ThinkPad T40
Pentium M 1.5GHz
768MB DDR RAM
14.1" TFT
1" thick, 5 lbs
7hrs battery life
Date of Birth: August 2003

protein
24-02-2005, 16:20:14
swap yours for mine. :)

miester gandertak
24-02-2005, 18:55:46
Originally posted by Venom
Probably has a shit video card. yaaay video card is shit but the chair is koel.

Christoph
25-02-2005, 19:06:22
Originally posted by MDA


Soon to upgrade, preserving the monitor, soundcard, and MAYBE the video, but I'm probably going to go PCI Express, because SP says it rocks. In that case I'll try to get an X700 Radeon.

PCIe usually tends to be slower, just be normal and get AGP, much better.

I want one of those dual CPU's, they look well good, but are probably way too expensive.

MOBIUS
26-02-2005, 00:30:56
I bet mine is the oldest and crappest...:)

Approx two years old.

AMD Athlon XP 2500+
1.84GHz, 512Mb Ram
80GB HD and even now I am only using 9302Mb...:lol:

MOBIUS
26-02-2005, 00:32:30
Oh and I only have a 15" TFT - I feel soooo inadequate...:p

The Mad Monk
26-02-2005, 08:56:43
Originally posted by Asher
My main desktop PC:

Athlon 64 3200+
2GB DDR400 CAS2
Asus K8V Deluxe
SB Audigy 2
Antec Sonata case ("quiet" case)
Zalman "noiseless" VGA/CPU coolers
Radeon 9800 Pro (flashed to Radeon 9800 XT) 256MB
2x120GB SATA RAID0 (240GB total)
2x160GB SATA (media storage)
1x80GB PATA (pr0n storage)
Date of birth: September 2003

My laptop:

IBM ThinkPad T40
Pentium M 1.5GHz
768MB DDR RAM
14.1" TFT
1" thick, 5 lbs
7hrs battery life
Date of Birth: August 2003

How is your memory configured?

Christoph
27-02-2005, 00:43:28
Originally posted by MOBIUS
I bet mine is the oldest and crappest...:)

Approx two years old.

AMD Athlon XP 2500+
1.84GHz, 512Mb Ram
80GB HD and even now I am only using 9302Mb...:lol:

My AMD Duron beats your Athlon XP in shittyness :)

Bergzwerg
28-02-2005, 09:05:53
My current one (until next monday) is way shitter than that.

Athlon 1.2 GHz
256Mb Ram
40 Gig hard drive
GeForce 2.

Bergzwerg
28-02-2005, 09:07:30
It's 4 years old.

Christoph
28-02-2005, 17:44:25
4? Was there a typo there? you missed the '0'

The Mad Monk
01-03-2005, 10:11:50
I also have a PIII 450 MHz with 384 Megs and 2 80 gig HDs.

It's five years old, but works well for most of my websurfing needs.

Bergzwerg
01-03-2005, 10:27:58
I just ordered my parents a new machine.

They are currently using my old PII 233, 64 Meg Ram, and a 4 Gig hard drive.

Bergzwerg
01-03-2005, 10:31:31
That's about 7 years old I think.

MDA
01-03-2005, 13:53:41
Originally posted by Christoph
PCIe usually tends to be slower, just be normal and get AGP, much better.

I'm counting on PCIe getting faster in the future, right now as far as I have seen the PCIe versions of cards are nearly the same as the equivalent AGP version, maybe dropping a handful of fps.

Christoph
01-03-2005, 21:00:11
I had a GF6600 PCIe, and it was so shit I sent it back. Got my current AGP one for 50 less and it's so much better.

Asher
02-03-2005, 00:45:12
PCIe isn't slower than AGP, it's much faster.

Nvidia doesn't have native PCIe implementations, they just kludge on a translation chip for AGP -> PCI.

The problem in your case is Nvidia, not PCIe.

Christoph
02-03-2005, 18:47:58
I also have a shitty mobo and processor, so that could have had something to do with it.

Christoph
22-03-2005, 22:45:42
PC Spec update

Just got these:

Abit mobo skt 939
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ skt 939
1024MB Duel Channel Crucial RAM


I'm well chuffed with this lot, as I was meant to be getting it in the summer, when I have money, but I found out my parents were saving for me to go to uni, so I have all that cash to spend! (I'm not going to uni). now I can game and game and game and game and game!

Cruddy
06-04-2005, 02:20:27
PC spec - it's good but not great...

1) Four bay "generic" case with side panels. Recyled from my old 'puter
2) Soltek NV-64 mobo
3) XP 2600 CPU
4) 512 Mb of RAM (333 FSB, can take 400)
5) 80 gig hard drive
6) GF4 TI graphcs card
7) Windows 98SE.
8) 56X CD-ROM that sounds like an afterburner...
9) DVD+ burner.

EDIT: That hard drive is a SCSI-3 U320, so you SATA freaks can go forth and multiply. And I forgot...

10) SIIG AP40 SCSI controller
11) Realtek network card

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
06-04-2005, 02:25:46
Originally posted by Cruddy

7) Windows 98SE.


:lol:

Cruddy
06-04-2005, 02:52:33
Laugh away... but I don't need anything better right now.

All my USB devices are 1.1, I have 512Mb of memory - upgrading the OS would gain me nothing.

And lose my cash to MS, of course.

Sir Penguin
06-04-2005, 03:35:01
Upgrading the OS would gain you a good OS.

SP

Cruddy
06-04-2005, 04:07:33
Originally posted by Sir Penguin
Upgrading the OS would gain you a good OS.

SP

:lol:

It's made by Microsoft - surely some mistake.

If someone can come up with a functional reason, I'll consider it.

"It's pretty" cuts no ice with me.

Sir Penguin
06-04-2005, 05:19:50
It's not pretty. It's butt-ugly if you don't do some configuration. But it is easier to use. It's also more secure, keeping it updated is hands-off, and it's more stable... just for starters.

SP

Cruddy
06-04-2005, 05:40:05
Originally posted by Sir Penguin
But it is easier to use.


Subjective. I have no problems using it.

Originally posted by Sir Penguin

It's also more secure

:lol:

Security is an illusion... and I get lots of spam from zombified XP machines whose users don't understand the meaning of the word.

Originally posted by Sir Penguin



keeping it updated is hands-off



:lol: :lol: :lol:

98SE updates stopped in 2003 - what's to update?

Wheras you're gonna be updating until MS brings out ANOTHER updated OS...

... you are still in a rat race. I've quit until I HAVE to rejoin.

Originally posted by Sir Penguin

, and it's more stable...

SP

Again, subjective. For the things I do what I have is steady as a rock.


Originally posted by Sir Penguin

... just for starters.



Having started so badly... maybe stop digging?

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
06-04-2005, 06:02:22
SP, you should have x-feared :shoot: him.

Win 2K is not "pretty", but it's a much more stable OS. Course, if all you do is surf and email, 98 is adequate, but that's about where it ends.

It may meet all your needs, and that's cool.

But :lol: still :D

Sir Penguin
06-04-2005, 07:01:53
Cruddy, don't be an ass, I'm trying to be helpful. This isn't Poly. I'm not trying to diss you by insulting your operating system. If you're just posting here to troll, let me know, I have better things to do.

I didn't have trouble using 98SE either. XP just has a better interface. It's hard to tell when you're used to 98, because you don't have anything to compare it to. Since I started using XP, I've found using 98 to be frustrating at times, because it's missing things that I've started using automatically in XP.

Security is not an illusion. XP uses NTFS, which has built-in security features lacking in FAT32. It supports extensive user permissions. Many of the defaults are smarter. And, as you kindly pointed out, XP is actually being updated actively. Do you seriously think that Windows 98 reached the pinnacle of security in 2003?

Stability isn't really subjective, but it does depend on your setup. I didn't have many problems with 98 either. No offense, but are you sure that you're not just used to 98 being slow and shakey?

Respectfully, I'm not here to dedicate my life to replying to your posts. I picked three extremely broad categories where I think XP is better than 98. I am happy to explain further if you have questions about those categories, or any other issues that might concern you. I will not explain further if all you want out of this is a forum for showing how much better you are than the rest of us.

SP

Cruddy
06-04-2005, 08:13:54
Originally posted by Sir Penguin
[B]Cruddy, don't be an ass, I'm trying to be helpful. This isn't Poly...

OK. I'm sorry for being a smartass.

And it's true, NTFS is a better file system than FAT32.

And it's true than XP is a better OS than 98SE.

I just can't justify it though, because there's nothing I need XP for. At present.

If I need USB2.0 or I need more than 512Mb of RAM or (yes) I need a more secure operating sytem, then of course I'll get 2000. Or if I want a 25% increase in speed I'll get faster RAM and processor.

But think yourself - did you ever use 98 with a 2 Gig processor and a screaming fast hard drive? I honestly don't notice speed lags when I'm using it.

Something you don't know about me - I was a very late convert to the PC. It involved therapy with a big stick and a strait jacket before I ditched all my Amiga stuff.

So after having gone through a lot of pain (and the usual expense) I really, really, REALLY don't appreciate people taking the piss because I don't have XP. Or any intention of getting it before its replacementis has been released.

EDIT: And of course, a better GFX card would be nice... isn't it always.

Sir Penguin
06-04-2005, 09:04:46
Yes. :D

Fair enough. Sorry for the crack about 98. I couldn't imagine going back to it though, XP is just too nice. It helps that I've got 2 free copies from my school.

SP

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
06-04-2005, 14:34:11
I am in the unfortunate position of using 98 with a screaming fast 2Gig processor in parallel to XP. In fact, as of last year, I had two installations of 98 on my home network. I can't _stand_ 98 having used 2k and XP. There is a huge qualitative difference between the older FAT32 and NTFS based operating systems.



I really, really, REALLY don't appreciate people taking the piss because I don't have XP.


Then you're probably not going to enjoy your time at CG, since we'll take the piss for any reason at all. But, as the leprechauns say, 'tis all in good fun. Get thicker skin.



It involved therapy with a big stick and a strait jacket before I ditched all my Amiga stuff.


I totally understand this however. Damn Commodore marketing, running the company into the ground.

Christoph
06-04-2005, 21:07:19
My file storage system is still Fat32, and i'm on XP Pro SP2.

How would I go about changing it? Would it involve formatting? If so, fuckit, I can't be arsed.

zmama
07-04-2005, 00:08:06
yes formatting

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
07-04-2005, 00:51:38
I don't think that's 100% necessary. I think there's a conversion you can do to an existing FAT32. At least, I've done that on some of the FAT32 installs of Win2k we've got here at work.

http://aumha.org/win5/a/ntfscvt.php

zmama
07-04-2005, 00:56:21
I suppose, but I wouldn't do that unless I really had to. If I'm messing with the file structure I want it clean

Cruddy
07-04-2005, 07:15:34
Originally posted by Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
Then you're probably not going to enjoy your time at CG, since we'll take the piss for any reason at all. But, as the leprechauns say, 'tis all in good fun. Get thicker skin.



Uh huh. Can you recommend a good supplier?

zmama
07-04-2005, 12:13:48
DIY

;)

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
07-04-2005, 14:31:31
Originally posted by zmama
I suppose, but I wouldn't do that unless I really had to. If I'm messing with the file structure I want it clean

Yes, however it is an option for someone who may not know how to properly and comprehensively back up all personal and system data effectively.

For us power users, it's not really an option at all, true. But without knowing whether Cruddy is a clueloess individual or Bill Gate's personal tech support, it's best to give all options, no? :)


Thinkcer skin can easily be attained by repeatedly stabbing yourself with a fork. The scar tissue will build up in no time. Plus, you'll be immune to mosquito bites and small caliber firearms!

Funko
07-04-2005, 14:44:54
I could never be arsed to actually reformat or even reinstall a windows machine.

zmama
07-04-2005, 15:01:32
Good choice of girlfriend then :)

Funko
07-04-2005, 15:27:18
I'm sure she couldn't be bothered either.

Tizzy
07-04-2005, 16:13:59
I can't.
I do too many reinstalls at work to be bothered out of hours

King_Ghidra
07-04-2005, 16:22:12
not even for your significant other! you big meanie

OldWarrior_42
07-04-2005, 16:42:08
I don't have a desktop PC anymore.

I had an experimental operation done where they inserted a Pentium X chip in my brain with 4 bajillion MB memory, infinite gig harddrive and a bunch of other secret agent stuff. I'm cool. And I post through telepathic means.

Weo. :D

Funko
07-04-2005, 16:57:57
Originally posted by King_Ghidra
not even for your significant other! you big meanie

It's fair enough. Just buy a new machine.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
07-04-2005, 20:15:24
Originally posted by OldWarrior_42
I don't have a desktop PC anymore.

I had an experimental operation done where they inserted a Pentium X chip in my brain with 4 bajillion MB memory, infinite gig harddrive and a bunch of other secret agent stuff. I'm cool. And I post through telepathic means.

Weo. :D

I thought you were getting your feet done?

And your system is obsolete by now :D

Darkstar
07-04-2005, 21:48:38
Oh. Using that new Sony system, I see. They just patented a new mind/machine interface. It feeds the output into your mind via mind control, using ultrasound to trigger neurons in your mind to fire. Fun and freaky, eh?

URL at:
http://news.com.com/Games+so+good+you+can+taste+them/2100-1043_3-5657353.html?tag=cd.top

Note: the article won't be good in about a week. It's an article "on loan" from Reuters to News.com. I'm too lazy to go find it elsewhere at the moment. ;)

Sir Penguin
07-04-2005, 21:54:31
But it's the quantum computer version, since he has infinite storage.

SP

Darkstar
07-04-2005, 22:08:00
He only thinks he has infinite storage. He got the round file system option... so when he runs out of room, it will start over-writing his oldest files. Works great in theory, but in practice that over-writes the OS pretty quickly... crash and burn. I hope he didn't get his motor center replaced so he could just "autopilot" boring, repetitive tasks... Being brain locked really sucks then. You can't even rip your scalp off and hit the old three fingered salute combo!

OldWarrior_42
08-04-2005, 05:45:39
Nice to see you guys discussing me..... about some stupid shit I wrote. :D You guys are sicker than I am.

I thought you were getting your feet done?

Had the left foot done on March 30th. I'm in a cast until April 27th, then 2 weeks of rehab and then the same procedure on the right about on or about May 11th.

You thought correctly. :)

chagarra
08-04-2005, 06:52:29
DS

You did read that they have done "NO" experiments at all....
It was PATENTED on the brainstorm that it may well happen that way in the future...

I won't even ask where the patent was issued......

Darkstar
08-04-2005, 07:48:40
I did indeed read that. I just got a kick that they got a patent on mind control. You have to wonder how that made it through the process. We should patent a few "sci fi" ideas ourselves...

OldWarrior_42
08-04-2005, 09:04:02
I own the patenet on mind control. :)

jsorense
08-04-2005, 09:40:21
Originally posted by OldWarrior_42
I own the patenet on mind control. :) That is about the scariest thing I have ever read. What does patenet mean anyway?:confused:

Funko
08-04-2005, 09:43:52
What are you doing up so late/early?

Funko
08-04-2005, 09:44:13
Patenet - fathernet?

zmama
08-04-2005, 09:45:22
Old people don't sleep, you know that

OldWarrior_42
08-04-2005, 10:26:54
Patenet internet. Patent on the internet. I don't know. I make it up as I go along.

And no... we don't sleep. :)

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
08-04-2005, 14:35:59
Originally posted by OldWarrior_42
Nice to see you guys discussing me..... about some stupid shit I wrote. :D You guys are sicker than I am.



Had the left foot done on March 30th. I'm in a cast until April 27th, then 2 weeks of rehab and then the same procedure on the right about on or about May 11th.

You thought correctly. :)

But why would you have your ubercomputer installed in your feet? Them's some mighty long cables to interface with your brain.

When you upgrade, you should consider getting it installed in your thoracic cavity, lots more room there, especially if you remove a few of those useless organs, like the liver, and heart.

Hey, I think I'll patent that idea!

Darkstar
08-04-2005, 20:40:25
Qaj, it's so the thieves that are going to steal his computer can just chop off his feet, rather then chop open his chest to get the hardware.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
08-04-2005, 21:04:54
Why leave it unprotected though? An Antec kevlar 3-bay chest case vest should keep him operating in all but the harshest environments, and leave room for a 16x dual layer DVD burner.

Darkstar
08-04-2005, 21:08:47
He's an old man! His company isn't going to pay for something like that! He can get the foot work under outpatient care at most metro hospital facilities.

Deacon
09-04-2005, 09:21:22
Antec does make some sturdy steel cases. PateNet sounds like a computer network implanted in the top of the head. :)

Regarding the OS Wars....

OSs seem to have incomplete coverage when it comes to software, drivers, games, etc. So I run two (2000, Linux) on my main machine, and three (2000, 98SE, Linux) on my second PC.

I use 2000 since it has the largest collection of software, drivers, games, etc. I use 98SE for my DOS programs that don't do well with emulation. I use Linux on my main PC as a desktop OS, and to store files on my second PC.

As for ultrasoninc brain impulses, what if Sony hits the wrong part of the brain? :)

Sir Penguin
09-04-2005, 10:13:29
I don't think that's possible, since they hit all parts of the brain.

SP

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
09-04-2005, 18:41:17
Originally posted by Deacon
PateNet sounds like a computer network implanted in the top of the head. :)

Or the liver.

Deacon
10-04-2005, 06:19:34
Goose liver? Never had that before. :)

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
10-04-2005, 08:14:45
Nor I. I tend to shy away from organ meat. Unless I'm eating hot dogs, or "ground beef" in opaque packaging.

chagarra
11-04-2005, 06:04:59
Originally posted by Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
But why would you have your ubercomputer installed in your feet? Them's some mighty long cables to interface with your brain.


It's the way ALL dinosaurs are built... sheez... :D :-p~~~~~~

OldWarrior_42
12-04-2005, 06:04:13
:lol:


Hey.... wait a minute.....

MDA
12-04-2005, 12:54:37
We're waiting for the words to get from his eyes to his feet.

The Mad Monk
14-04-2005, 03:52:52
Originally posted by chagarra
DS

You did read that they have done "NO" experiments at all....
It was PATENTED on the brainstorm that it may well happen that way in the future...

I won't even ask where the patent was issued......

Maybe they haven't, but someone has (after a fashion)...

Tuesday April 12, 1:52 AM
Scientists Create Remote-Controlled Flies

Yale University researchers say their study that used lasers to create remote-controlled fruit flies could lead to a better understanding of overeating and violence in humans.

Using the lasers to stimulate specific brain cells, researchers say they were able to make the flies jump, walk, flap their wings and fly.

Even headless flies took flight when researchers stimulated the correct neurons, according to the study, published in the April 7 issue of the journal Cell.

Scientists say the study could ultimately help identify the cells associated with psychiatric disorders, overeating and aggressiveness.

Biologists have long known that an electrical stimulus can trigger muscle response, but this approach used focused beams of light to stimulate neurons that would have been impossible to study using electrodes.

Gero Miesenbock, associate professor of cell biology at Yale, said if the process could be duplicated on mice, researchers might be able to better understand the cellular activity that leads to certain behavior.

"Ultimately, that could be important to understanding human psychiatric disorders," Miesenbock said. "That's really futuristic stuff."

http://asia.news.yahoo.com/050411/ap/d89dbiro2.html

Buzz buzz!

Darkstar
15-04-2005, 07:49:04
Always messing about with brains, always sticking things into them, or sometimes, pulling things out, just to be different.

No wonder zombies need brains. They are test subjects that had their brains messed with, and are just looking to get back to normal. Poor little green, pus oozing fellas!

Gary
27-01-2006, 10:17:06
Ah, I see you went with the Hauppage PVR 350 after all :)

MattHiggs
27-01-2006, 12:21:59
Desktop:

P4 3.0 GHz w/ HT
2GB - PC 3700 DDR
nVidia 6200
2 * 250 GB Maxtor
DVD+-/RW
Belinea 21" Widescreen TFT + 15" TFT
SB Live 5.1

Laptop
PM 730 (1.6GHz)
512mb RAM DDR
60GB HD (7200RPM)
Wireless / Bluetooth
Intel 910 GFX

Sir Penguin
27-01-2006, 22:40:19
Desktop is the same, but I've since bought a Radeon 9800 Pro for it.

Laptop:
Pentium M 740
1 GB PC2-4200 RAM
60 GB hard drive (not sure if it's 5400 RPM or 7200 RPM)
Radeon Mobility X300 (PCIe)
Wireless, IR port (ha ha), no Bluetooth.

It's way better than my desktop, except for the video card and screen size (15"). The image quality makes up for it all though. Working on my desktop makes my head hurt now.

SP

Venom
27-01-2006, 22:46:55
Anybody got a spare DVI capable monitor I can have?