PDA

View Full Version : New Computer -comments please


Funkodrom
10-02-2005, 13:50:20
What dya reckon? I was going for under £1000 - this comes in at about £1100 with the TFT, £915 without. Thinking about getting the TFT at a later point.

AMD Athlon 64 processor 3200+
Microsoft® Windows® XP Professional Edition
1GB dual channel DDR RAM (PC3200) 400MHz (2x512MB)
160GB 7200rpm Hard Drive with 8MB buffer
128MB DDR ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with TV-Out & DVI
17" Viewsonic VX715 (Black / Silver) DVI TFT
16x DVD-ROM
Multi Format 16x Dual layer DVD re-writer
Sound blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Creative Inspire P5800 5.1 (black)
Microsoft Keyboard
Microsoft Optical Mouse
Microsoft Works 8.0
Pinnacle Creativity Bundled Software
2 year on-site warranty (3rd year return to base)
Onboard 10/100 Network Port

MDA
10-02-2005, 15:01:14
You could wait and get a 19" TFT at a later point, when response times and prices come down.

Beta1
10-02-2005, 15:11:53
looks alright but dunno about the graphics card - they have been around a fair bit. I'm very pleased with the GF6600GT I just got though. I guess its an AGP mobo? Might be worth getting a PCIe one for future proofing...

zmama
10-02-2005, 15:19:26
Um, ya don't need to spend the extra for XP pro...if you can get home that'll save you a couple.

Sounds good for what you will be using it for

Venom
10-02-2005, 15:30:13
On a more exciting front, I got clearance for my new computer yesterday and was able to add $100 to my budget.

King_Ghidra
10-02-2005, 15:56:57
mom's having a good week huh

DevilsH@lo
10-02-2005, 16:18:23
Bin all the software mike unless it comes with OEM stuff.

Is that a sata or ata drive?

Other than that for what i assume you are going to use it for, e.g. vastly increasing your porn collection it will be more than upto it and it shouldn't have any problems with games for a good while.

Funkodrom
10-02-2005, 16:24:47
It's all OEM stuff.

I don't know what SATA or ATA means. This one doesn't say but there is one the same size in a SATA which is £5 more.

I'll ditch the XP Pro and go for home then which probably means I can up the graphics card. Thing is there's the 6800 All in Wonder which is about £20 more or the next one is the X800 which is £150 or so more.

Which comes to £846

And I might lose the TFT and get one later.

Asher
10-02-2005, 16:35:11
Holy fucking shit, you almost have the exact same computer I do.

SATA > ATA, by the way. ATA is the bigass thick ugly cables that are obsolete, SATA is the tiny cable.

Funkodrom
10-02-2005, 16:36:51
I haven't bought it yet. :)

Ok, so those changes (and upgrading to a 200Gig SATA drive takes it to) £860

Not too bad. Might order it tomorrow.

DevilsH@lo
10-02-2005, 16:54:52
I won't profess to know much about this, but the X800 comes in AGP and PCIe the little i do know tells me that PCIe is quicker than AGP so if your going with the X800 then it would probably be better to go with the PCIe version over the AGP one, which may mean a motherboard change.

Having said that cost is obviously an issue, so i would go for the best non PCIe or extortionate AGP card you can afford, Toms Hardware was where i used to go for advice before buying.

:edit: Not bad that only 5 lines written and i completely contradicted myself. If you want the X800 go PCIe, if you are more worried about cost go with the best AGP you can afford.

Funkodrom
10-02-2005, 17:00:45
Basically I think the X800 is too expensive - and anyway Graphics cards are easy to upgrade later.

Sir Penguin
10-02-2005, 18:34:01
The 9800Pro is a good card, I don't think you'll have any complaints with it.

SP

zmama
10-02-2005, 18:59:13
We've liked our All in wonder...drivers have been tricky but it works well now.

Funkodrom
11-02-2005, 09:02:47
Sweet. ADSL's getting delivered on thursday. So I'll order this soon! :)

The Mad Monk
11-02-2005, 23:16:54
128MB DDR ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with TV-Out & DVI

Is that an AIW card?

What motherboard are you getting?

zmama
11-02-2005, 23:54:26
no its not the AIW

The Mad Monk
12-02-2005, 06:57:26
Then he should pay a little more for the AIW version. Most of the advantages of TiVo, and none of the subsription fees. :)

Jeratain
12-02-2005, 11:21:46
Get the nVidia 6600 GT AGP version instead of the 9800 Pro. The 6600 is the best bang-for-the-buck card right now, and blows the 9800 out of the water.

I have an AIW 9800 Pro. It's a great card - but the 6600 GT is just better :)

Venom
14-02-2005, 02:23:56
I'm buying mine tomorrow.

zmama
14-02-2005, 02:29:32
Yay!!!

Which one did you decide on?

Venom
14-02-2005, 02:52:11
Gonna go with my friend's Dell hookup. Not as super powered, but cheaper.

Venom
14-02-2005, 02:57:18
3.4, 1GB of 533 RAM, 6800 GT card, DVD burner. Which is only like 5 times better that what I have now.

Oerdin
14-02-2005, 03:10:15
It's hard to beat Dell for desktops. It really is.

For laptops I'd look else where though.

Funkodrom
14-02-2005, 12:22:39
My evesham is roughly the same price as the equivalent spec than I'd get from Dell - I just checked - although I don't get free delivery which is about £50.

On the plus side Evesham support and service is amazing and Dell's is notoriously terrible.

zmama
14-02-2005, 12:29:40
When I've needed Dell support they've been fine, but possibly the UK support isn't. Not trying to talk you out of the Evesham...

Funkodrom
14-02-2005, 12:32:29
Maybe "notoriously terrible" is overstating it a bit. :)

Too late now anyway!

zmama
14-02-2005, 12:36:35
YAY!!!! When does it arrive?

Funkodrom
14-02-2005, 12:38:15
Not sure. Within 9 working days - unless there is a component shortage.

Beta1
14-02-2005, 13:23:20
evesham are pretty good - i have one of their laptops.

Funkodrom
14-02-2005, 13:41:35
The best sign about them is that I think most people I recommended them to has ended up recommending them to someone else.

Venom
16-02-2005, 15:23:23
My computer shipped today.

Gary
16-02-2005, 15:41:06
Originally posted by Funkodrom
The best sign about them is that I think most people I recommended them to has ended up recommending them to someone else. After all, why should they be the only ones to suffer :D

zmama
16-02-2005, 15:47:08
Originally posted by Venom
My computer shipped today.

Yay! You may get it by the weekend!!

It's always nice to have a Saturday morning to set it up and to take all the preinstalled crap off :D

Spartak
16-02-2005, 20:06:31
such as windows?

Nav
16-02-2005, 20:33:49
Get the tft separately. I can recommend a sharp one.

http://www.macuser.co.uk/macuser/pcpro-reviews/65974/sharp-ll172gb.html

This has suitable refresh rates for games.

Don't ask me why I had to go through Mac user to find a PC pro review! :rolleyes:

Venom
16-02-2005, 21:05:06
Originally posted by zmama
Yay! You may get it by the weekend!!

It's always nice to have a Saturday morning to set it up and to take all the preinstalled crap off :D

First thing I'm going to do. Download all drivers. Burn to CD. Rebuild.

zmama
16-02-2005, 21:58:08
:beer:

Venom
17-02-2005, 13:44:41
Oooh! It's in Raleigh! It's in Raleigh!

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 13:46:56
Mine should get here the morning after it ships. :)

zmama
17-02-2005, 13:50:51
The distance is a bit further for Venom's 'puter to travel,

about 1200 miles

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 13:51:30
What's your point?

zmama
17-02-2005, 13:52:16
I dunno

just blathering

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 13:57:03
Oh good. Carry on.

Venom
17-02-2005, 14:04:01
Yeah, but has your's shipped yet?

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 14:04:25
No, but it did cost shitloads more.

zmama
17-02-2005, 14:12:19
YAY!

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 14:13:05
I think at the current exchange rate it was like a quadzillion dollars.

Venom
17-02-2005, 14:30:27
Mine's better too.

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 14:53:24
I've got the same RAM, 2 DVDS (one burner) the 3500 Athlon... not sure who's graphics card is better though.

Venom
17-02-2005, 14:58:12
My RAM is 533. Suck it. An

And I'm sure we could draw Intel/AMD lines and argue about the merits of such. But I'll let you have that one. Mine Graphics card is better.

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 15:00:20
I've got a girlfriend.

King_Ghidra
17-02-2005, 15:01:44
:lol:

Venom
17-02-2005, 15:01:47
I've got whores. They're cheaper.

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 15:03:42
L

Venom
17-02-2005, 16:10:02
All too true.

zmama
17-02-2005, 16:56:01
Agreed but your video card is better

Funkodrom
17-02-2005, 17:32:22
I still totally pwned Venom.

Lurker
17-02-2005, 18:28:44
Damn you all for making me go back to the first page to see where this all started.

zmama
17-02-2005, 19:04:28
lazy bum

Lurker
17-02-2005, 19:06:28
crazy mum

zmama
17-02-2005, 19:17:29
ctrl-alt-c

Venom
17-02-2005, 19:24:18
Computer is here.

zmama
17-02-2005, 19:28:05
Have a nerderfic time

Venom
17-02-2005, 20:02:54
I will, dammit. I will.

Venom
18-02-2005, 02:26:08
YEEEEE HAAAAAAAAAA This thing is like fire!

And the printer is sweet too.

zmama
18-02-2005, 02:31:51
Printers are always sweet at first...they turn on ya later, the evil bastids.

SO what game are you gonna play first? Half-life2? Far cry?

Venom
18-02-2005, 04:27:46
I guess I'll have to buy both of those this weekend. Well, whichever ones cheaper. I'll play that one first.

It's an all in one printer, so I'm sure it will turn really nasty in the future. But for now, I will marvel at it's screen and plug in random memory cards and look at the pictures.

Funko
03-03-2005, 09:09:34
Got the text saying it was dispatched yesterday (which I didn't see).

Will be here today or tomorrow.

Darkstar
03-03-2005, 09:17:18
Congrats Funko. Have fun with your new machine.

Funko
03-03-2005, 10:49:52
Indeed!

Funko
04-03-2005, 15:23:56
It's sitting at home waiting for me. I wanna go play with it.

Funko
15-03-2005, 11:44:34
So... it turns out my old VGA monitor wouldn't work with my new computer for no obvious reason...

So I got a shiny new 19" viewsonic tft

http://www.muf.me.uk/files/14032005.jpg
http://www.muf.me.uk/files/14032005001.jpg

Funko
15-03-2005, 11:46:05
Now all I need is a bigger room.

zmama
15-03-2005, 13:12:45
And your cup is empty

Debaser
15-03-2005, 13:16:39
Aww, it's got a 3.5inch disc drive. How quaint.

King_Ghidra
15-03-2005, 13:20:03
:D

i haven't had one of those on my home pc for c. 4 years

Funko
15-03-2005, 13:22:44
I didn't actually order/pay for the 3.5" drive...

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
15-03-2005, 19:26:40
Sp what are the specs on the new monitor? And what were the symptoms for the last one not working?

Funko
15-03-2005, 21:18:08
The old monitor wouldn't work when it went into xp, although it'd boot up to that point ok, then the signal cut out. I decided just to push forward my TFT purchase by a month or so.

New one:

http://www.lowestonweb.com/Products/DisplayInfoMain.asp?e=0FAEB91D-5314-4C7A-9C8C-EAC00A67BDB5

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
15-03-2005, 23:57:08
Hmmm. Might be a resolution problem. The kids' 15" monitor does that whenever you set it to 1024x768. Natsy thing, they're up for a 17" flat panel soon, I guess.

Viewsonic are fairly reputable. 16ms response is nice, though I don't personally like 1280x1024 on 19" - it's too big a display size for that kind of image. But you gotta go up to a 20" for 1600x1200, and then your response time goes way down and the price goes up...

Don't think I'm trashing your monitor though, it's very nice :)

Funko
17-03-2005, 10:35:32
I borrowed a different monitor on it to edit the settings turned the resolution down to 800*600 and the refresh down to 60Hz and it still didn't work with the old monitor. I could have spent longer on the phone to the support but at that point I thought what's the point of having that machine if I can't run in high res anyway with good refresh anyway. :)

1280*1024 seems to be pretty decent and the response time makes a big difference for games.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
17-03-2005, 16:30:26
Have you tried adding the CRT to whatever dual output your Radeon 9800 might have? Even though it's not a great match for the LCD, two monitors beats one anyday. I had a similar setup a few years back at work - and 18" LCD and a 17" (15" viewable) CRT next to it. I found it to be extremely useful. ANd you might find it works okay with a driver update, who knows?

zmama
17-03-2005, 16:36:36
He'll let Tizzy try it for him. Sounds too tech for Funko ;)

Funko
17-03-2005, 16:43:17
It might have 2 outputs but if so I have no idea how it works yet. The monitor is a VGA and there is only one output I can connect it to which is the DV-I, via the DV-I/VGA adaptor (provided). That doesn't work.

And yes, I did try another monitor with VGA output through the DV-I adaptor to make sure it wasn't the adaptor.

Basically the video card has all kinds of shit with it that I haven't investigated yet but am not sure I can use anyway...

Basically I need some kind of s-video to scart connection or some way of getting the TV aerial connection into s-video... which I will attempt to work otu at some point.

Funko
17-03-2005, 16:50:09
I really haven't looked at all the shit I can do with the graphics card yet.

I do have shitloads of cables for it though.

Funko
17-03-2005, 17:01:23
Ok, this made me look at the manuals.

I have the connectors to do scart to RCA (from the playstation) and RCA to s-video (with the card) so video in is no problem.

What I don't know how to do is how to get TV into the card... got a CATV input but I think I might need a freeview box with a CATV output to use that...

Funko
17-03-2005, 17:02:20
And no dual monitor support unless there are 2 graphics cards.

Funko
17-03-2005, 22:35:43
ok, it was totally easy. Just plug a normal TV lead in from the aerial into the computer. Sweet!

Fistandantilus
17-03-2005, 23:37:15
It was totally easy but it took you hours to make it work? :p

Spartak
17-03-2005, 23:56:16
:lol: easy in a kind of too obvious for the techy way .

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
18-03-2005, 05:16:05
Second video card would be cheap, if you just want to use it as an auxiliary monitor for text or a browser or something. You can pick up a new one that'll work okay for about US$30 that'll go in a PCI slot.

This is how I got 3 monitors set up at work - one AGP and 2 ANCIENT PCI cards. The PCI cards pretty much suck (slow scrolling times, no OpenGL compatibilty) but they're great for spreading out work on.

Anyone with multiple monitors that are just taking up space should investigate this really simple way of making Windows a little more bearable. Perhaps Deacon or SP can clue us in on multiple displays on Linux or whatnot.

Sir Penguin
18-03-2005, 06:28:09
:lol:

SP

Funko
18-03-2005, 09:08:48
Originally posted by Fistandantilus
It was totally easy but it took you hours to make it work? :p

Took me 5 minutes once I actually got home and looked at the connectors on the card.

4.5 minutes of which was trying to find a cable (in fact 2 cables and a connector in the end) long enough to reach from the aerial socket to the machine.