PDA

View Full Version : 3D wierdness


Beta1
04-02-2005, 17:23:22
Am having some problems with various games - freelancer in particular. The games seem to run but every so often the graphics freeze for a second or so then continue. Its a right pain in the arse. Its not a spec problem - I'm waaaay over the required specs for stuff like that. I'm running a 2.4ghz AMD on a soltek SL-KT600-RL with 1gig of ram(333) a SB live 5.1 and a 64mb GF ti4200 all with the latest certed drivers. Anyone got any ideas - I assume its a direct3D/driver thing but I cant figure it out.

zmama
04-02-2005, 17:26:14
Um...do you have stuff running in the background? Like your anti-virus? Your mail? that sort of thing... Windows update?

Beta1
04-02-2005, 17:30:51
nope have killed everything I can, nothing obvious in the background bar the usual winXP stuff.

Beta1
04-02-2005, 17:32:04
come to think of this I dont think this happened pre SP2...

zmama
04-02-2005, 19:14:22
SP2 does have a lot of auto-stuff

Beta1
05-02-2005, 13:21:01
this is beggining to piss me off - just installed deus Ex 2 as a test to see if this was affecting everything and it is.

Its really weird I'm getting hangs that go on for 5-10 seconds whenever there is any 3d on screen, theres sounds stuck in loops and the mouse freezes up and then unsticks.

Not sure exactly when this started but I suspect it coincides either with DX 9.0c or SP2...

WTF do i do now? buy a new graphics card?

Beta1
06-02-2005, 13:18:50
blah going from bad to worse - just tried theif 3. that doesnt work either (although it used to on this machine), same problem crashes at the start menu. Think I have seriously fucked something up in the drivers (although I've tried three different versions and am now trying the omega drivers.). I've removed SP2 and that didnt help, I've tried several DX versions with different games, no joy.

Anyone got any good ideas before I reformant and reionstall form scratch or do a system roll back to day 1...

Beta1
06-02-2005, 21:53:27
OK reformated and reinstalled XP SP1 also removed the SB live to make things simpler. installed thief & DX9.0b as a test - didnt work (needed sound card). Turned on board sound on, ran game, game freezes on menu screen.

Installed VIA 4 in 1 from motherboard disc, ran game - still freezes.

installed latest certed nvidia drivers (66.93), ran game - still freezes.

ran dxdiag - no problems reported but the direct3d tests seem to be freezing too but only the DX8 and DX9 ones...

Am now really stuck. This used to work...

zmama
06-02-2005, 22:43:31
umm updated SB live drivers?

Yeah, its probably not but you didn't say you did that...

You seem to be doing everything right!!


:(

Beta1
07-02-2005, 08:17:34
yeah have tried using the SB live with latest drivers and taking thatout, turning on the on board audio and putting the latest drivers for that on.Still no cigar. also tried the newer 4 in 1 via drivers.

I'm beggining to think the card has failed- but can it fail in such a way that DX7 works but not 8 or 9?

Beta1
07-02-2005, 11:14:46
have made a bit of progress - There maybe a problem with the ti4200 and the 66.93 drivers. Several people have reported that after installing the drivers the fan often stops working and a couple of people have had the card fail after that. One guy I work with had the same card and his failed soon after installing 66.93...

So theres the answer. Solution = new card

MDA
07-02-2005, 16:23:55
ATI makes nice cards. :)