PDA

View Full Version : It's time to get my ethernet on.


The Mad Monk
01-02-2005, 05:38:39
I never managed to get the on-board ethernet working on my new computer, and I suspect I broke it either when I first put it together, or more likely, when I jammed the plug in there not realizing that the metal tab from the case cutout was still covering it (I thought it was a little snug).

I want to make sure it's not just some software switch I need to flip to make it work, so...is there some software switch I need to flip to make it work?

I know it's not the wires or the other computer. I acquired a little hub and the hub and other computer do see each other, but the new computer is dead, dead, dead.

If the onboard ethernet is dead, I am NOT taking everything apart and RMAing it when a $10 add-on board will work just as well. It's not like I'm low on slots.

Sir Penguin
01-02-2005, 05:55:08
It would probably be covered by motherboard drivers. Go to your motherboard's manufacturer's website and download the latest drivers.

SP

Deacon
01-02-2005, 22:39:54
Maybe it's as simple as checking the jack for debris. If you've installed the drivers and done all the configuration steps and still can't send or receive pings, then the NIC is probably dead. Sometimes file and printer sharing is flaky with recognizing other machines on the network, though they're configured correctly.

Another consideration is firewalling. If you're running a firewall program, make sure the firewall doesn't stop wanted traffic.

Beta1
03-02-2005, 11:33:56
and check its not disabled in the BIOS, unlikely but worth a look.

The Mad Monk
05-02-2005, 09:35:34
I have been busy so I haven't dealt with it yet.

I know it's not sending signals because the corresponding light on the hub dosen't glow, no matter which wire I use or which port on the hub I plug it into, while the light readily glows when I plug in my other computer.

I will check to see if there are any more blockages, then check the BIOS. I never thought of checking the BIOS.

zmama
05-02-2005, 09:39:10
Does the light glow on the computer where you plug in the cable?

Vincent
05-02-2005, 10:31:33
Now that's tech talk!

The Mad Monk
05-02-2005, 11:12:12
There's no light there.

zmama
05-02-2005, 11:26:45
Do the drivers, should take but a min. But probably spending $9- $10 is in your future

Darkstar
07-02-2005, 20:21:25
What ZMama said.