PDA

View Full Version : So, I finally get around to loading Far Cry...


The Mad Monk
10-11-2004, 08:11:41
...and it hangs for five minutes at the splash screen, and exits.

What gives?

AIW 9600 Pro, Athlon 64 3200+, XP, yadda yadda.

King_Ghidra
10-11-2004, 09:11:05
graphic drivers? directx?

i had a 9600pro and was running on xp so apart from having an intel chipset i have the same setup as you

The Mad Monk
10-11-2004, 11:21:06
I used the drivers and directx that came with the card. The computer dosen't have an internet connection, so there have been no updates beyond that.

Nav
10-11-2004, 11:42:19
You definately need to get latest directx and graphic drivers. No two ways about it.

The Mad Monk
10-11-2004, 18:59:14
Dammit.

That means I need to get it a modem.

...and a firewall.

...and virus protection.

...and spyware detectors

...and probably a few other things.

...oh yeah, and a phone patch cable.

...

zmama
10-11-2004, 19:12:06
modem...cheap, $15

next three things for free

phone cable...I have a drawer full of em

Or can you burn a cd on your internet computer?? You could just do it that way

The Mad Monk
10-11-2004, 19:19:41
Nah, it's something I've already decided I need to do for other reasons, I just have to get into gear and get it done.

...or I could get an ethernet card in place of the modem. It was supposed to be networked to the other computer, but the onboard Gigabit is dead, dead, dead.

...and I'd rather not RMA a motherboard for something I can fix with $20 and a free card slot.