PDA

View Full Version : X2 says: We've released the 1.4 Patch!


Darkstar
16-07-2004, 20:43:44
:( But they were completely unprepared for the slam of everyone trying to just *confirm* whether they actually released the patch or not. Their web site reminds me of Venom. Has a heart attack just trying to tell you to go the fuck to hell and leave it alone.

Gamespot had a "brief" mention that X2 patch 1.4 was going to be released *soon*, but didn't mention a date. I did manage to get through on Egosoft's forums after more then an hour of trying, and I did see a bulletin from Egosoft stating patch 1.4 was now available (and only about the rest of the forum full of complaints about how the traffic was killing them), but that was the big miracle for me. Oh, and a RETRACTION on the 1.4 being available also posted from Egosoft...

So, what about it? Anyone know if it is up or not?

Gamespot put up some info on it. Like, now you too can own your very own SPACE DOCKS (make your own ships for cost, rather then pay retail). Plus all the other on site info that Ego has been saying (the enhancements to the A-Life engine, tweaks to ships and station outputs, etc etc etc).

Provost Harrison
16-07-2004, 23:04:48
What are you talking about?

Darkstar
16-07-2004, 23:09:26
Egosoft's game X2 : The Threat

MDA
17-07-2004, 14:15:37
I got it OK last night. Their forums were hit or miss (more often miss) yesterday. haven't installed yet, but I'll probably get to it this weekend.

MDA
17-07-2004, 14:16:23
I read it was trading stations and equipment docks, but no mention of shipyards or wharfs.

Beta1
17-07-2004, 14:46:53
bit busy at the mo, will get around to it after current review in progress.

MDA
18-07-2004, 13:19:20
review in progress?

Apparently I was fucked in the head when I installed 1.3 without first installing 1.2. When I installed 1.4, I got splash screen then CTD upon loading saved games.

Installing 1.2, then 1.4 solved the problem. There were no apparent problems (I thought) with 1.3, but now that I think about it I was having problems with my combat rank getting frozen, and I've noticed that with 1.4 the AI actually uses missiles.

3 bayamon and an orinoco kicked my ass yesterday. At least one of the bayamon used ion disruptors, then I took a missile up the wazoo. I'm definitely planning on investing in mosquitos for anti missile defense on my mamba. I hate how slow the nova is, so no tail gun for me. Haven't looked at any of the new bases yet. Combat is a lot more fun, though.

They nerfed the XL cargo from my TPs.

Beta1
19-07-2004, 09:34:45
yeah I'm planning on restarting under 1.4 as I was using a vast number of TPs specifically for their XL cargo. Will probably script myself 50million credits and rebuild my empire from there (I think 50million would be quite conservative estimate of my previous 1.3 game - I had around 100 factories, with around 500 transports, several M6 and a TL that was worth 18million on its own.)

as for missile defense - IDs used to blow missiles very easily, as did those shockwave thingies, you only had to aim in roughly the right direction.

MDA
19-07-2004, 11:37:01
Can't mount either on a Mamba. :(

I may switch for a Boron M3 - that was my first ever M3 and would be my favorite if it had the speed of the Split one.

Beta1
19-07-2004, 13:41:54
oh well, looks like your going to have to rely on speed then - under the previous patches you can outrun anything that can seriously hurt you!

Beta1
19-07-2004, 13:53:05
IMPORTANT NOTES:

• There are several versions of this update for different language and country versions. To make sure you always get the right version of the update, you have to register on our website using the online registration key of your product. Registration will also give you access to additional download content.

• This update requires version 1.2 or 1.3 to be already installed. Only older Australian and North American (US and Canada) versions can contain versions below 1.2. All European versions are 1.2 or 1.3 from the start.

• Boron Manta and Teladi Toucan TP ships now have the transport class L and thus cannot transport XL goods any more. As a compensation all TS ships have been given more cargo space and maximum speed. If you still have TP ships in your fleet which carry XL goods (e.g. Ore) you will still be able to sell, move and eject them in v1.4.

• The first time you load an old 1.0, 1.1, 1.2 or 1.3 savegame, it will have to be converted. This can take a much longer time than normal loading. This is only a one time effect. Save again and the loading time will be normal again.

IMPROVEMENTS OVER 1.3:

• Artificial Life Engine: AL plugins add atmosphere and life to the X Universe. AL settings can be changed in the Options menu. Existing plugins:
• President’s End Task Force
• Race Patrol
• TP Liners
• Trading docks and Equipment docks can be bought at shipyards! You can run them like a factory. Goods are added by moving them to the station. Note that you can set only one price for each ware.
• The collision avoidance has been improved along with the AI in general.
• Advanced players will be able to capture and pilot Khaak ships.
• Escort ships now have smoother, more consistent speed
• Defend against massive Xenon invasions in a new BBS mission.
• Many new filters and additional information in the “Property Owned” menu, and you can jump to the Adjust Station Parameters directly by pressing ‘D’.
• Suggested minimum product selling price available in the “Adjust Station Parameters” menu.
• Fewer notifications about enemy attacks on player property.
• Be aware of laser towers! They are much stronger and smarter now.
• Player-owned ships will not leave their homebase jump radius any longer.
• The station information menu now shows you the required resources per production cycle of your factories.
• The Command Console is available in stations, too. Scripters can create new station and ship commands, similar to the ship turret commands (no flight commands).
• Announcements in stations and the eject (Shift+E) confirmation can be disabled in the Options menu.
• Software (including Best Buys and Best Selling Price Locators), Engine Tunings, Rudder Optimizations and Cargo Bay Extensions will not be destroyed any more during fights.
• Police licences will no longer be lost when a 'stray shot' hits a friendly ship.

BUGFIX:

• FIXED: Several rare crashes
• FIXED: Game could freeze when player died
• FIXED: Using a joystick with a throttle could make the cockpit judder a lot
• FIXED: Memory leak which caused big savegames
• FIXED: Sectors in the galaxy map could have green borders although the player has no property there.
• FIXED: Various BBS missions updated, specifically no more negative rewards
• FIXED: Some missing goods have been added to several Equipment Docks
• FIXED: Ships could not dock at the Xenon K
• FIXED: H did not open the help menu
• FIXED: Shift-J skipped the jump countdown instead of aborting it
• FIXED: Releasing the Shift key when typing in input menus could cause double characters
• FIXED: Large ships were not shown correctly in warp tunnels
• FIXED: Using the parameter –noabout messed up copy protection (nevertheless using –noabout is still not recommended).
• FIXED: The main story could get stuck before the mission in Omicron Lyrae.
• FIXED: Sometimes the gravidar was not shown correctly when starting a new game or tutorial.

MDA
19-07-2004, 14:20:51
Just getting into range of a Khaak M3 gets me killed with only one shield. Zzzt, zztt, zzzt-zzt, boom! "distracting" it with missiles fired from 5 kilometers out did nothing, strafe drive did nothing.

Their accuracy has increased tremendously.

Beta1
19-07-2004, 15:57:58
ooo pink zappy laser death.

Darkstar
19-07-2004, 20:42:48
Well, trading stations and equipment docks? Cool. But no shipyards. :(

I had heard about the trading stations being made available before. But when I read on a game news site that it was shipyards I went... WOW! :D Guess they confused equipment yards with ship yards. Easy mistake for outsiders to make. ;)

Darkstar
19-07-2004, 20:43:20
Oh... I guess this means that they have now started on the Expansion now. ;)

MDA
19-07-2004, 20:57:36
It would seem that way.

There's a galaxy trader script released now, too.

Nav@work
20-07-2004, 08:51:52
To play this game again I need an extra day in the week. :(

oh and Beta it's a preview not a review.. ;)

Beta1
20-07-2004, 09:28:48
doh thats right preview

should be done in a couple of days now.

MDA
23-07-2004, 12:08:01
I was running from a wasp missile last night (they can actually close ground on me when I'm not using strafe) and it was only about 400 meters behind me - for fun I targeted it and launched a mosquito missile, then switched to viewing the wasp that was chasing me. It gave me a cool view from behind the wasp - my mamba was slowly getting bigger in the background - then the mosquito zipped in from the foreground and killed the wasp from behind. (must have missed the wasp on the first pass?).

Anyhow, "target viewpoint" was yet another cool aspect of X2 I hadn't really played with yet. I'm going to get screenshots next time.

Beta1
26-07-2004, 11:57:10
finally got around to playing this again. As I deleted my save games I restarted but scripted myself about 75million (less than a quarter of what I had in my 1.3 game).

Bought a mamoth, a centaur and a few factories and went off to whiz through the mission. And 1.4 is a lot better than 1.3. The superclusters are now serious opposition. Anyway I reckon a couple of days play will have my empire back up and running as it was at the end of my previous game and I can carry on with my plans for split erradication.

Anyone figured out how to do remote mining yet? I was wondering if setting a ship armed with a mining laser to attack an asteroid would have the desired effect. That way I could have setup a ship mining operation in one sector with a TL and a few TS then use a jump capable ship to supply Si to any of my crystal fabs that needed it for (effectively) zero cost. Or maybe I should just move my Si processing facilities to that system and jump the crystals out as required...

Anyone seen a auto mining script?

MDA
26-07-2004, 12:57:20
Nope. I've read about people remote mining by controlling a TS from the bridge of their TL, but that still requires you to be in-sector.

Beta1
26-07-2004, 13:35:04
had a look round the net, seems out of sector ship based mining is a no-go. The asteroids just dissappear and dont yield fragments.

Thats a big shame - silicon is the limiting resource in the galaxy and if you could run an out of sector harvesting system as above you could power your empire for free (and as the roids respawn you could do it indefinately.)

The insector mine/crystal fab version isnt as attractive as the mines and fab will require power which would require and insector free energy loop....

Maybe the answer is to load my mamoth up with twenty or so TS setup with one of the insector automining scripts and head to you know where and strip mine the entire field in one go. Then load it all into the TL and then distribute it at will.

Have ot think about this in detail, maybe take over an empty sector as a crystal production site and do it that way.

MDA
26-07-2004, 14:51:59
THAT OTHER SECTOR has a crapload of Asteroids, too, IIRC.

Beta1
26-07-2004, 14:57:23
lol thats right give away all the secrets!

Actually as I'm messing around with scripts maybe I should just hack the game so that the silicon mines dont need power. That way I could set a load up in SOMEWHERE SECRET... Obviously thats cheating but as they dont let you run a ship mining op out of sector then its only balancing that out...

MDA
26-07-2004, 19:31:59
I thought you meant Ore Belt! I should have wondered why you'd bother being cryptic about Ore Belt. :lol:

Beta1
26-07-2004, 19:52:10
LOL well even DS must have got that far south by now!

Darkstar
26-07-2004, 19:55:29
Ore Belt? Yeah, I've gone through there a time or two. ;)

Beta1
27-07-2004, 08:43:06
just found something really neat.

since 1.4 stations now have command menus, by default theres 10 slots with nothing in them. If you pull select one you can issue and order to automatically transfer all money above a certain value to the player account. That is really usefull. All my stations are now on a 250000c limit

MDA
27-07-2004, 12:15:53
Sweet trick!

Beta1
28-07-2004, 06:28:31
woo capped a khaak m5

didnt get any of the lasers or shields but its bloody fast (500+)

MDA
28-07-2004, 17:58:31
http://www.egosoft.com/x2/forum/viewtopic.php?t=56554

Describes the [signed] script for the Engine Tuning kit available at Pirate bases - the tuning kit runs for a short duration, providing a speed boost and burning either ecells or spaceflies. :)

The speed increase is about 200 for an M3 or M4 fighter and lasts a little over a minute. It then needs to recycle for 3 minutes before it can be used again. It works for variable duration and speeds in other ship classes.

I'll probably give this a try tonight.

Beta1
28-07-2004, 20:50:09
sounds cool, especially running it on spaceflies!

Darkstar
16-08-2004, 20:34:46
They have now released a patch for the 1.4 Patch.

Enjoy!

Darkstar
19-08-2004, 20:11:13
Egosoft has announced that they are officially now working on X2: The First Expansion (currently titled X2: The Return). I guess Mi-hon is going to get his revenge or something.

Anyways... for what few details are leaking out, you will have to hunt for them in the Egosoft X Forum. Good luck!

MDA
19-08-2004, 20:52:27
I've spotted some neat stuff on the Devnet - I only have entry level access, but I can still see some early scripts for missions/quests they may be adding. Some look like nice additions.

MDA
24-08-2004, 14:24:24
http://www.egosoft.com/x2/forum/viewtopic.php?p=673011#673011

Link to expansion (The Return) thread.

Darkstar
26-08-2004, 22:53:07
Asteriods respawn, right? So, do they just randomly respawn in any sector? And is it the same resource type and intensity as the original when respawned, or does it change?

Darkstar
01-09-2004, 05:43:30
This game really pissed me off recently.

I was in a Vulture, mining the asteriods. I had both my personal runabouts (a Boron Octopus and the starting Disco) playing "Protect Me" to see how well the "improved" AI was doing... when both of them got CAPTURED inside the asteriod!

From their vantage point (Cockpit and External), there was no asteriod. The Octopus self destructed trying to GET OUT. I idled the Disco, and it was saved when I blew up that nasty M5 eating asteriod with my Mining Laser.

What truly lousy modelling! I hope that is part of the "Physics Engine" fix that is going to be in the expansion.

Beta1
01-09-2004, 07:47:03
Originally posted by Darkstar
Asteriods respawn, right? So, do they just randomly respawn in any sector? And is it the same resource type and intensity as the original when respawned, or does it change?

they respawn in the same place as the same roid (yield and type) as far as I know.

Was it one of those roids with tunels in it?

I have got totally lost inside one of them before.

Darkstar
01-09-2004, 08:41:06
Nope. A standard asteroid. It was one of the big round models (very similar to the standard asteroid mining shape). I've noticed the game has an incredible amount of trouble with all asteroids (non-ware). On a "move to" or "follow" order, your ship will sometimes fly INTO the asteroid. Just a really poor job by Egosoft on that particular matter.

Darkstar
11-11-2004, 00:27:34
Note: Signed scripts update. More improvements for your existing X2!