PDA

View Full Version : Total Annihilation and Windows XP Problem


The Mad Monk
12-07-2004, 03:32:05
Total Annihilation crashes on start in XP -- black screen with unreadable, oversized error message. Can Esc out.

Any ideas?

Greg W
12-07-2004, 04:51:15
Dunno, but you could have a look here (http://www.forumplanet.com/planetannihilation/topic.asp?fid=4697&tid=894653), or here (http://www.ntcompatible.com/thread9905-1.html), or just where I got those two links from, Google (http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=total+annihilation+Windows+XP)

Deacon
12-07-2004, 05:00:37
I dunno. It's an old title, so there could be several issues. If it needs DOS functionality (like found in 9x), then NT's DOS emulation is only so good. If it makes assumptions about the hardware that it shouldn't, then that could be another source of trouble. Absent a patch (or really good virtualization software), the only recourse is to use older hardware and/or software.

I believe that TA2 is in the works.

The Mad Monk
12-07-2004, 08:49:47
Originally posted by Greg W
Dunno, but you could have a look here (http://www.forumplanet.com/planetannihilation/topic.asp?fid=4697&tid=894653), or here (http://www.ntcompatible.com/thread9905-1.html), or just where I got those two links from, Google (http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=navclient&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&q=total+annihilation+Windows+XP)

Yep, saw them before (on Google!), no real help. one isn't even the right operating system.

Gee, thanks.

The Mad Monk
12-07-2004, 08:53:01
Originally posted by Deacon
I dunno. It's an old title, so there could be several issues. If it needs DOS functionality (like found in 9x), then NT's DOS emulation is only so good. If it makes assumptions about the hardware that it shouldn't, then that could be another source of trouble. Absent a patch (or really good virtualization software), the only recourse is to use older hardware and/or software.

I believe that TA2 is in the works.

This is so sad.

One of the ways I justified the new machine to myself was that I would finally be able to run Total Annihilation as God Intended: with 10 players of 500 units each, on a 64x64 screen field.

:(

MDA
12-07-2004, 11:53:51
You've tried all the obvious tricks with XP's windows and dos emulation settings, right? I know you just got XP at home, but don't know if you have any other experience with it.

The Mad Monk
12-07-2004, 12:30:14
I was playing around wih the various emulations, limiting colors, limiting resolution, toning down the refresh and the acceleration. I've tried all I could think of, but my experience with the technical side of XP is two days and running. :(

Obviously, people are out there playing this game on XP, and I'm probably missing something very simple.

MDA
12-07-2004, 12:47:43
I tried to play one of the Might and Magic games on XP and ran into impossible problems, but if other people got it to work, there should be a way.

MDA
12-07-2004, 12:48:07
That was my Captain Obvious post of the hour.

zmama
12-07-2004, 15:03:16
Ummm could you run it through Dosbox?
Just something to try.
http://dosbox.sourceforge.net/news.php?show_news=1

Darkstar
12-07-2004, 20:33:23
Good ZMama!

I'd suggest trying DosBox as well. I've had a lot of success running games on my XP box with their full features on things so old they wouldn't even consider showing a title screen. The trick with DosBox is learn to use the mount command (you'll need it to get to your HD and CD-Rom).

Other things that can get in the way of old games on XP (speaking from first hand experience)...
Firewalls, antivirus, various drivers for hardware (game pads, joysticks, track balls, graphic tablets, wireless mice, wireless keyboard), various wallpaper changers, and various desktop toys.
Reminders: If you are going to shut down your AV or firewall, unjack/hang up your outside connections. Whenever I shut down my AV, I always run an AV check afterward, just in case something was lurking. Paranoid and silly, but hey, I'm just crazy that way.

zmama
12-07-2004, 21:38:34
Well, this place hasn't made me a total moron yet...just partial :D

Deacon
12-07-2004, 22:14:38
Not crazy at all. Before I started running a firewall for my dialup connection, it took maybe a minute or less to get hit with MSBlast.

I'm gonna have to check out DosBox. I've tried Bochs, which isn't ideal because it takes several instructions to run a single x86 instruction. Dosemu is faster, but I consider it broken because they won't do like Bochs did and just integrate the vga font into the source code. Maybe DosBox is sane.

Greg W
13-07-2004, 00:09:48
Originally posted by The Mad Monk
Yep, saw them before (on Google!), no real help. one isn't even the right operating system.

Gee, thanks. You try and help someone... :rolleyes:

Deacon
13-07-2004, 05:18:17
Does tweaking DirectX work?

The Mad Monk
13-07-2004, 05:25:57
I'm not sure how to "tweak" Direct X. :(

TA is a DX5 game, and I have DX9 on this computer.

I also have MoO2 on this computer, which is apparently a DX2 game -- it plays well, though animations tend to be a little "sticky".

The Mad Monk
13-07-2004, 05:26:29
Originally posted by Greg W
You try and help someone... :rolleyes:

:gasmaske:

Darkstar
27-07-2004, 21:18:46
This thread must be in some major search engine somewhere. There's a lot of "Guests" that view it most days.

The Mad Monk
28-07-2004, 09:48:51
Well, if any of the guests know the answer...

FOR GOD'S SAKE, HELP ME!!!