PDA

View Full Version : VCD files and CRC errors

Gary
17-03-2004, 12:11:51
Hi guys. Sorry not been around very often, but work is more stringent these days, and having moved house I can't seem to find the time to get that straight let alone visit the general chat web-sites.

However I seem to have got myself more work to do on top of all that. And aside from signing up at a dedicated site, I thought you guys may be able to help.

OK, first off I am a total newbie at all things video, so try not to use large words ;)

I impulse purchased a set of VCDs on Ebay for a program I used to watch as a kid. Nostalgia and all that. When they arrived they turned out to be home copies rather than anything official :( but hey, that's OK I guess. shouldn't stop me watching the things.

Ah, but... turns out the files are not all perfect. I've concentrated on the first disk of the set only so far, but do intend to try to watch the lot and see how bad things are. i.e. I'm going to overdose on it this week, instead of just sitting back and enjoying them gradually as I'd expected to.

OK, so what does one do to repair (video) files with bad CRCs ? Is there a push button and sit back & wait utility out there somewhere, that can make multiple attempts to read, and when it fails patch it with what the surrounding pixels suggest should be there ? (OK it's audio as well as video so I guess it won't be quite that easy, but ...)

I've already spent quite some time surfing trying to find the answer, and downloaded a few utilities which were not clear what they did and why, or how to operate. In fact I'm can't be sure but something messed up my primary PC and use of one of those utilities is the thing I think most likely to be the cause. But I digress.

A bit of history that may be no help to any reply, but might give clues to the problem.

The VCDs stuttered and temporarily froze when played on my primary PC. Checking on the secondary one I have, the same behaviour occurred.