PDA

View Full Version : Bastard harddrive


Nav
11-03-2004, 00:09:31
My flashy new SATA drive (A Maxtor 160gb) has been having random corruption problems since I got it. There seem to be no bad sectors.

Wasnt a real problem until today my outlook.pst file was somehow reduced to 0kb.

No idea whether it was corruption or whatever, running a data recovery program now in an attempt to resurrect all my lovely emails.. I mean spam.

:bash:

well worst case scenario I lose all emails since I setup my new pc.

Chris
11-03-2004, 01:49:13
Krazy says nobody reads these forums.

Nav
11-03-2004, 15:37:00
Krazy by name, krazy by nature.

using WinHex now in an attempt to recover my lovely pst file.

Funkodrom
11-03-2004, 16:09:20
Well I didn't know he was having e-mail problems!

Drekkus
11-03-2004, 17:04:54
That's from all the technical emails he gets when the site has problems.

Nav
11-03-2004, 17:36:16
Now that's spam.

No longer Trippin
14-03-2004, 07:40:06
Return it or RMA it if you can't do the first option, it is only going to get worse. The RMA might not go through unless Maxtor's utility can find a bad sector (as I'm assuming you just ran chkdsk).

Nav
15-03-2004, 18:24:08
RMA?

I've attempted to run Maxtor's DOS based utility for checking it, but the damn thing won't detect the drive on the VIA controller. Going to run it via the Promise controller later to see if that makes a difference.

Unfortunately I couldnt recover the data, however my last backup was about a month ago so I havent lost too many emails...

Manually backing up my pst file daily now. Maybe there's some way of having a script that copies it on startup and/or shutdown (but only if it's not 0kb!)?

zmama
15-03-2004, 18:48:53
RMA = Return Merchandise Authorization...ie calling Maxtor tech support they say , yup it's broken send it back to us and we'll send you a new one.

Sir Penguin
15-03-2004, 20:58:48
Originally posted by Nav

Manually backing up my pst file daily now. Maybe there's some way of having a script that copies it on startup and/or shutdown (but only if it's not 0kb!)?

http://www.csc.uvic.ca/~nrqm/transfer/scopy.zip :)

SP

Nav
17-03-2004, 00:51:54
did you happen to just have that or did you write that specially!? (if so thanks doubly!) :D

will give it a go tomorrow. I gather it doesnt copy a file if it's 0kb?

what would be good is if it could copy multiple files to one or possibly many directories. ;)

protein
17-03-2004, 01:12:24
Do you still have that old PC?

Sir Penguin
17-03-2004, 01:16:35
It took about 15 minutes to write. It doesn't do much error checking, but it also doesn't copy a file that's exactly 0 KB. More accurately, it does copy a file if it's 1 or more bytes long.

I was thinking of doing multiple files, but that seemed like too much work. I was saving it for the next release, which should be some time this evening (and which includes a minor bugfix--when you try to copy a 0KB file, it still creates a new 0KB file if one doesn't already exist). :)

SP

protein
17-03-2004, 01:23:33
Clever penguin. :)

Sir Penguin
17-03-2004, 04:49:28
It took 8 times as long to triple the lines of code. I hate trying to be thorough.

www.csc.uvic.ca/~nrqm/transfer/scopy-0.5.zip

SP

Nav
18-03-2004, 12:07:34
you really shouldnt have bothered! thanks, I will give it another try.

Sir Penguin
18-03-2004, 21:15:38
I hate being thorough, but I love writing easy, useful code that I don't have to think about much. Thanks for giving me the idea. :)

SP

Nav
19-04-2004, 13:33:13
well the random corruptions continued until mid-last week when a vital system file was corrupted (somewhere) and the OS didn't boot.

Re-installed and everything is working fine so far (no more corruption).

I have a sneaky feeling Norton Anti-virus might have been causing it.... (I will hold off installing it for a bit to test...)

Beta1
19-04-2004, 15:48:36
maxtor are usually pretty good with returns (well they were with mine).

I had a 30Gb drive go belly up after 6 months. They sent me a new one (although it took about 4 weeks). When it turned it turns out they had given me a 40Gb one to make up for the wait.

Nav
19-04-2004, 16:56:56
I need a decent backup solution first. Waiting to get a large external firewire harddrive.

I'm hoping that the corruption problems were software related rather than hardware, time shall tell..

No longer Trippin
19-04-2004, 19:59:07
Can you enable SMART in your computer's bios, you may want to do that if your drive supports it, and I think it would as it's quite universal now.

Darkstar
20-04-2004, 05:14:04
When you first get a drive, and it starts corrupting... that's an immediate RMA if you don't turn up any virus or other malware on it. Sometimes, they are just bad from the factory.

With your next paycheck, go pick up a USB 2 or Firewire external drive for your back ups, back up your important files, and return the drive/system. That's the path of least trouble for you from my personal experiences with such problems.

Nav
26-04-2004, 11:06:17
my external 250gb (sorry it's actualy 233gb.. bastards) has arrived. It's got a case made of cast iron. It's heavy as hell!

I've been running my pc the last eight days non-stop with no corruption whatsoever...