PDA

View Full Version : .Net 2003 Instal oddities


Venom
08-12-2003, 19:41:58
Perhaps? Basically I installed .Net 2003 and now for what ever reason IE cannot open any new windows. The good news is, pop ups are destroyed. The bad news is links won't open either. Anyone have a clue?

Scabrous Birdseed
08-12-2003, 20:29:07
You close them yourself with your new lightning-fast superhero reflexes, so fast you can't even notice it yourself.

Funkodrom
09-12-2003, 10:11:18
Don't use .Net.

Sir Penguin
09-12-2003, 10:14:34
But it's neat.

SP

Venom
09-12-2003, 13:18:40
Very neat. And an important skill for me to learn so I can get a new job and get the hell out of this shithole.

Asher
09-12-2003, 17:50:16
.NET is great for lazy programmers like me who don't like dealing with memory leaks.

Darkstar
11-12-2003, 02:50:01
So far, I really like .Net.

qcubed
11-12-2003, 12:00:42
i like dot net too.

Venom
11-12-2003, 14:35:58
Yet no one has heard of this particular trouble?

Sir Penguin
12-12-2003, 01:04:19
 
 
SP

Darkstar
12-12-2003, 06:30:19
I heard of a problem where all their customizations to the defaults had been lost. But not this one.

I am going to PRESUME that you have already: a) rebooted, b) ran a virus scan, and c) ran a SpyBot check.

Hey, I just remembered --- you didn't install a BETA did you? The new IE has a pop up blocker... won't launch new windows. Sound famaliar?

And there's a registry setting that you can change in older IE's to stop pop ups. Stops all new windows dead.

LINKS don't work? Or you just cannot "open in new window"?

Asher
12-12-2003, 06:35:32
Sounds to me like something hijacked threading control.

Darkstar
12-12-2003, 06:51:52
Could be a change in his IE Security settings... or a "application controller/protector" (comes with many firewalls) deciding IE doesn't have the correct security permissions to start new processes...

Asher
12-12-2003, 06:52:47
I think it's more likely having to do with a wayward debugging tool fucking up threading control.

Venom
15-12-2003, 13:51:48
No Betas installed, and I've run all the other things you suggested Darkstar. Some day I'll just rebuild the machine and try again. Not now however. Too much work to do.

King_Ghidra
15-12-2003, 13:59:41
venom, what version of IE are you on?

[this question on behalf of one of the developers here who i asked about your problem]

Venom
15-12-2003, 14:16:10
6.0 with SP1

I can still open new windows with control+n mind you, but not by clicking on links.