PDA

View Full Version : Another comp config question


LoD
01-12-2003, 21:40:56
OK, guys, what do you suggest for a server that would host one semi-large site with about 1000 unique visits daily, possibly with co-hosting of other, smaller sites. The monitor, peripherals, graphic card, OS and case are not an issue (although the power supply is).
Help?

Sir Penguin
02-12-2003, 02:08:21
You probably wouldn't need much. A cheap desktop with RAID1 and a good power supply stuck in would probably do it. What is the max load?

SP

LoD
02-12-2003, 11:40:41
Well, the problem is, I don't know exactly, but, as it's around 40-50 GB data sent monthly

Funkodrom
02-12-2003, 12:55:53
What are you serving the sites with? Apache? IIS? etc...

Basically think RAM, RAM, RAM, RAM, RAM, RAM. A Gigabyte or so I'd say (it's cheap anyway). And get fast disks.

Processor demand shouldn't be that high.

LoD
02-12-2003, 19:56:37
Apache.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
02-12-2003, 20:07:15
I don't know if really fast HDDs would be all that necessary. Disk access is generally faster than outgoing Net speeds for anything but the higher-end connections. Which raises the question: what's the net connection speed? DSL? T1? Better?

Also, is the 40-50 Gig load spread over the month, or occurs in bursts?

I agree with the Lots of RAM suggestion. Processor might also be a factor if you're doing a lot of server processing before serving a page (ASP, PHP or whatever). I assume you'll be doing something like this if you're employing a content management system or similar, with a database back end.

LoD
02-12-2003, 22:38:31
Originally posted by Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
I don't know if really fast HDDs would be all that necessary. Disk access is generally faster than outgoing Net speeds for anything but the higher-end connections. Which raises the question: what's the net connection speed? DSL? T1? Better?


Probobably something around 1 MB/s, the server will be on co-location with a friendly host.


Also, is the 40-50 Gig load spread over the month, or occurs in bursts?


More or less spread evenly throughout the month and day.


I agree with the Lots of RAM suggestion. Processor might also be a factor if you're doing a lot of server processing before serving a page (ASP, PHP or whatever). I assume you'll be doing something like this if you're employing a content management system or similar, with a database back end.

Exactly, everything's in PHP+MySQL.

LoD
16-12-2003, 21:05:22
OK... any specific suggestions? Mobo, proc?

Venom
16-12-2003, 21:09:46
Quad 1Ghz Xeon processors. 2GB of RAM and 4 18.6 GB 7200rpm hard drives. That should handle things just fine.

King_Ghidra
16-12-2003, 21:36:19
venom, why the 4 hard drives? is that more efficient than one large one, or are we talking striping or mirroring or something here?

Sir Penguin
17-12-2003, 02:16:07
Or, if you want something that is more affordable, a Pentium 4 2.4C processor, an Asus P4C800-Deluxe motherboard, 1 GB of expensive RAM (two sticks for dual channel support), and 4 WD Raptor hard drives in a RAID 1+0 configuration.

SP

LoD
17-12-2003, 10:57:23
:eek:. What about low budget options?

Sir Penguin
17-12-2003, 12:09:29
2 WD Raptor hard drives in a RAID0 array. :)

SP

Venom
17-12-2003, 13:25:14
Originally posted by King_Ghidra
venom, why the 4 hard drives? is that more efficient than one large one, or are we talking striping or mirroring or something here?

Striping, mirroring, etc, all of the above. It's a must. A goddamn professional server won't have any large HD's on it. Just a bunch of moderately sized ones.

Sir Penguin
17-12-2003, 22:39:13
On the other hand, you'll have to work to find new 18.6 GB 7200 RPM IDE drives for significantly less than 40 GB equivalents.

The WD Raptor has 36 GB, 10,000 RPM, 8 MB cache, 5.somthing ms seek time, a SATA interface, and comes with a 5-year warranty. They go for around US$100 each.

SP

Venom
17-12-2003, 23:56:45
Alright fine. Get those instead.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
18-12-2003, 18:56:44
Originally posted by LoD
:eek:. What about low budget options?

A Commodore VIC20 with a 300/1200 baud modem.

Sir Penguin
18-12-2003, 21:31:49
An antique! :eek: Now you're really asking him to splurge.

SP

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
18-12-2003, 21:39:25
US$15, eBay

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3446408929&category=51057

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
18-12-2003, 21:40:22
That's the modem. The VIC 20 itself is about $10, from eBay too. Just search on Commodore VIC 20 :)

Sir Penguin
18-12-2003, 22:16:27
Yes, but those are American dollars.

SP