PDA

View Full Version : software conflicts?


Drekkus
28-11-2003, 12:22:10
Recently I have been playing an old game, Age of Kings, with great pleasure. The death match option does away with all the micro management.
Anyway, all of a sudden I get an error report when I start it. I have been installing some new stuff, like the zonealarm update. So my guess the problem is with the new stuff I installed. But whatever I try, the game doesn't start. It's an original game, no bad copy.

Anyone any ideas how you fix something like that?

Vincent Fandango
28-11-2003, 20:28:26
Download a patch. Reinstall. RTFM. Cry a little. Download new drivers. Reboot. Check the support site. Search Google. Throw away the game. Finis opera

Tizzy
29-11-2003, 01:18:18
What he said

Drekkus
29-11-2003, 16:56:39
Done all that already, except for the finish opera.

Sir Penguin
30-11-2003, 00:19:24
Install Windows 98.

SP

Vincent
07-12-2003, 17:50:32
I had a similar Problem with AOM. Sometimes it just stopped at the options screen. After a reboot it was OK

Darkstar
11-12-2003, 02:41:45
Is it bombing back to the desktop?

Drekkus
15-12-2003, 12:59:57
No. I think it's a problem with ZoneAlarm. The game stopped working after I got a temporary zonealarm pro update. Now I installed the normal zonealarm, and it didn't stall, but acted really weird on start up. So after turning zonealarm off it finally worked again.

King_Ghidra
15-12-2003, 13:06:08
the worst thing about zonealarm is when it pops up a message dialogue you can't see

something to try when it looks like the game is hung

ctrl-y will say yes allow this program to access the inetrnet (or whatever)
ctrl-r will check the remember this option flag

this will work even if you can't see the dialogue (assuming it is there :))

Drekkus
15-12-2003, 13:31:33
Thanks, that's a good tip! I don't always want my games to acces the internet when I just want to play a single player game. But I can't set that as a 'remember this option', for when I do want to play online.