PDA

View Full Version : You can't wait, can you?


Fistandantilus
14-02-2002, 12:47:57
Another civ3 patch will be out tomorrow!
The best game ever becomes even better! :hmm:

Resource Consumer
14-02-2002, 15:02:55
I think Fist has discovered irony.

Funkodrom
14-02-2002, 15:46:12
What can you build with irony?

Vincent Fandango
14-02-2002, 16:03:41
ironclads?

Vincent Fandango
14-02-2002, 16:04:18
Like in that song: Ebony and irony lalalalblahblahblah "

Venom
14-02-2002, 16:18:03
Is this the Patch of the Year for the Game of the Year?

walruskkkch
14-02-2002, 17:58:16
You got to give them credit for trying. Oh how they are trying.:coolgrin:

Fistandantilus
14-02-2002, 18:04:31
Oh well, they are already speaking of a third patch... :rolleyes:

Besides some of the fixes aren't bad (stack movement, less stupid workers..) but without a decent editor and MP...

MDA
14-02-2002, 19:47:46
where's the damned editor!?

Greg W
14-02-2002, 19:51:56
Yeah, they screwed up badly leaving MP and the Editor out of the initial release. Though whether that was them or their publisher, who knows...

Worst thing was I installed the first patch the other night, and the game slowed down so badly (on a new game no less) that I gave up. Could have been other factors, such as surfing the net and downloading for a few hours, but it was a bad sign.

Jeese, I didn't just criticise them, did I? Don't tell Yin, he'll have a fit. :nervous:

:D

Darkstar
14-02-2002, 22:57:54
MP is a pay for patch. They announced that a good bit before they went to beta. The Pay for Patch of SMACX worked so well for their bottom line, they just figured out what element to save as the Enchantment in it, and they were off to the races.

Stack movement? Like in SMAC? Or WORKING stack movement?

Fistandantilus
15-02-2002, 10:41:17
Stack movement like in 'every unit of the active unit's type in that square will move to the specified location'. There is no way to build armies composed of different units like in CtP2 but still it speeds up the endgame a lot.

Fast units have been toned down, they now have only a % (less than 100% and modified by experience) of success of withdrawing. I like that.

It's not a bad patch but at this rate by the time civ3 will be polished enough to be fun to play again I'll be spending my time on MOO3...

MDA
15-02-2002, 17:23:44
Originally posted by Greg W

Jeese, I didn't just criticise them, did I? Don't tell Yin, he'll have a fit. :nervous:

:D

He already had one when the game came out without an editor or multiplay. He also seemed to go beyond criticism into controlled flaming.

Greg W
18-02-2002, 03:45:05
Originally posted by MDA
He already had one when the game came out without an editor or multiplay. He also seemed to go beyond criticism into controlled flaming. Funny, that's mostly how I categorised his normal posts w/r to Firaxis, and his not-so-normal posts were just outright flames. :lol:

MDA
18-02-2002, 16:34:49
I was being polite, since he's not here to defend himself. :)

Greg W
18-02-2002, 20:57:30
:D

Shining1
18-02-2002, 23:16:42
Is it six months since CivIII was released yet?:)

EA really should stop with this 'she'll be right' attitude to its releases.

I don't mean to harp, but Blizzard is holding a 2-4 month online beta test of WarcraftIII at the moment, with 5000 testers involved. The game actually seems to work, they're just doing this because without such numbers you can't really test the game properly for all the 'Zergling Rush'/'Age of Buildings'/'Tank Rush' type sleazes that you otherwise get.

So it's the other way round - the end customer gets a game that has already been played for a good 6 months, with patches released during that time for the 'simple' obvious mistakes (so far they've had problems with massed archers - wow, I can't believe they didn't see that coming - and massed gargoyles). So they beefed up the melee units and made them faster). Instead of the game only becoming playable 6 months after its release.

And yes, it ships with MP and an editor:).