PDA

View Full Version : Diablo II 1.10 is out!


The Mad Monk
31-10-2003, 07:47:53
...and has been, for a few days now. :)

Any impressions yet from our Diablo afficianados?

Anyone get steamrolled by an errant Diablo Clone yet?

Resource Consumer
31-10-2003, 19:45:00
No comment


roll drums

cue Mightytree :D

MDA
31-10-2003, 19:52:21
:lol:

or Qaj.

Mightytree
31-10-2003, 21:44:44
No comment either.

Except for that it's too early to comment yet.

Resource Consumer
03-11-2003, 14:57:59
I could comment;)

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
03-11-2003, 16:14:56
No comment here either. I've been off the web recently due to a nasty bout of bipolar-boy, broken-cat-leg, and for myself, bronchitis. Yippee Skippee.

I did have the beta installed on my Win98 installation of D2, but didn't get round to checking it out much, though the wife has put in some time on it.

MDA
03-11-2003, 18:11:39
cue Dona

Greg W
03-11-2003, 23:36:39
And Blitzen?

MDA
04-11-2003, 19:35:35
I meant Lady o'Chicken, but reindeer are welcome.

Mmm. Smoked reindeer jerky, coming soon.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
05-11-2003, 18:36:27
Great. Downloaded the "official" patch from Blizzard itself yesterday, tried to run it on my "main" installation, and it says:

The version you have is a higher version than the one you're trying to install.

Current: v 1.0.9.???
Patch: v 0.0.0.???


Or something to that effect. I'm guessing I downloaded a broken patch, I read somewhere there are two versions. Anyway, I'll be trying to download it AGAIN later tonight, possibly.


As for the beta patch, which I did DL a few months back and install on my "secondary" installation (ie. my Win98 partition), I checked out some of the immediately obvious stuff, like the slight shuffling round of monsters, and the skill synergies, but I wasn't struck by anything too fundamentally different. I do HOPE that gems become a bit more common, otherwise it'll be difficult to create rejuvanation potions in the cube (they need 3M, 3H and a gem now) or else that rejuvanation potions themselves get a bit more common.

Oh, and as for LoC's opinion, I'm not sure she even knows it's been patched :) She plays it mostly on the laptop we have, but occasionally gets onto the Win98 copy.

Mightytree
05-11-2003, 22:34:45
Just connect to Battle.net and it will download and install the patch automatically.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
05-11-2003, 23:22:24
I don't like updates that aren't executables. When you have four installs to patch, that significantly increases the time time spent downloading (I'm on dial-up, DSL is not available in my town yet, and probably won't be for 5 years - yay for living in the U.S.! :rolleyes:) and also makes re-installs a pain in the ass.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
05-11-2003, 23:24:54
Not to mention the ability to run older software. I reinstalled Stars! on the weekend and immediately patched it to version j thanks to patch executables. I don't even know if they're still available on the Net!

(That all said, I did update Age of Mythology on the weekend using an "update" method online, because the patch wouldn't download properly - again. What is it with me and patches? Did I inadvertantly buy Darkstar's PC?)

The Mad Monk
06-11-2003, 06:47:39
I believe you have uninstall the beta before you cas load the "real".

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
06-11-2003, 18:38:49
Ah, well, the install I'm trying to run the patch on is my "unpatched" 1.09d on my WinXP partition. The Win98 one is still 1.10beta, but as yet I have no plans to patch that.

The Mad Monk
06-11-2003, 20:53:52
Hrm. Then I'm stumped. Have you checked diabloii.net for possible workarounds?

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
07-11-2003, 00:26:17
Not as yet - didn't get on the PC at home yesterday, can't from work (game sites blocked, grrr). I'll try tonight.