PDA

View Full Version : Linux for Dummies...

Jeratain
31-10-2003, 06:40:37
Hello. Okay, first let me state that I have only used Linux from downloading ISO files and I am still pretty much a total newbie at it - I do not claim to know anything about it, but I want to learn :) That said, I'm having a very basic and idiotic problem. I have Windows XP on my main harddrive and have downloaded Mandrake onto it (details below.) I have another harddrive I am going to add as a slave drive so I can install this Linux distro on, but I've run into this little scab.

I went to download Linux distrobution of Mandrake 9.2 from a USC FTP server. After a day I finally finished getting all the necessary files onto my harddrive. Unfortunately, the FTP didn't offer the usual ISO files that I so would have preferred to download. Instead I downloaded the entire contents of the i586 files which turned out to be 2.53 GB worth of files from this FTP server: ftp://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake/9.2/i586/ (if you go there you can see the files that I now have on my hardrive).

Now the issue I am having is that I have no idea how to go about installing Linux from these files. They aren't in ISO format so I can't directly burn the files to a CD without knowing what files and folders go to which CD. The Mandrake folder itself contains most of the files so it equates to roughly 2.5 gigs. Is there anyway to go about this, or am I going to have to download the ISO files from someplace else?

If you can't access the FTP server, the folders I have on my computer are as follows:

>i586
>i586>doc
>i586>dosutils
>i586>images
>i586>isolinux
>i586>lang
>i586>Mandrake
>i586>misc

You can view the actual contents and subfolders at the above listed FTP.

Any help is appreciated :)

Deacon
31-10-2003, 07:11:52
I'm not that familiar with Mandrake. I did find the following page...

ftp://mirrors.usc.edu/pub/linux/distributions/mandrake/9.2/i586/install.htm