PDA

View Full Version : Bloody fucking piece of shit sound card!


Scabrous Birdseed
27-09-2003, 17:18:30
I'm seriously fed up with my Soundblaster Live! Platinum 5.1 card. It'd be quite a good card if it was functional but it's a buggy piece of utter crap that has several entirely non-functional features.

And not the useless features like audio effects for games either. Today I discovered that the Line In port doesn't work. For fuck's sake! It's the line in port! My old AWE32 had a working line in port! :mad: :mad:

Also several of the ports on the front panel thingy don't work. Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

(I need the line in port 'cause the manufacturer of my newly purchased TV capture card apparently doesn't believe in sound transmitted via PCI, and has supplied a skank-ass 6 CM audio cable instead. I'm currently forced to listen to TV through the line-out port on the card with the obvious associated "can't change the volume, can't listen to several things at once, little fiddly hole" problems.)

Sir Penguin
27-09-2003, 18:42:22
Creative making a crap sound card? Mercy!

SP

zmama
27-09-2003, 19:08:02
I'll bet it even has crap drivers ;)

fp
27-09-2003, 19:13:13
Crap drivers? Would that make it a female sound card then?

*runs*

zmama
27-09-2003, 21:08:39
:shoot: :shoot: :shoot:

Immortal Wombat
27-09-2003, 21:10:55
hah. he ran the other way
<-------

No longer Trippin
27-09-2003, 22:57:36
Did you check in the properties to see if the line in isn't set to mute? Isn't hard to replace. Rip the one off your AWE32, take the 1 of your 5.1 and solder the awe32's one in it's place. I imagine it is the exact same connector module. If not, solder and wire can work if it's the jack, if it is something past the jack, well then your screwed pretty much.

Scabrous Birdseed
01-10-2003, 17:09:47
The line-in was set to mute. :o

Darkstar
01-10-2003, 17:53:46
They often are, Scabby. Who'd have thought it though? It's one of those little initiation "gotchas".

Vincent
11-10-2003, 17:31:51
Originally posted by Scabrous Birdseed
The line-in was set to mute. :o I laugh at you, silly computer person!

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
11-10-2003, 17:52:56
We should revoke his "geek" status for that one! :ninja:

Scabrous Birdseed
13-10-2003, 17:12:18
I'm completely baffled as to why the setting was in a piece of shit software called the "Creative Surround Mixer" rather than in the normal volume control though.

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
13-10-2003, 18:54:01
Last time I had a Creative sound card, that's where it was too. My guess is they're just non-standardizing proprietary technology bastards.

:ninja:

No longer Trippin
13-10-2003, 22:03:50
Expand the volume control, it should have the option for line in and show it muted.

Scabrous Birdseed
14-10-2003, 16:18:22
Nope. The Surround Mixer and the windows volume control bear no obvious relation to each other whatsoever.