PDA

View Full Version : Talking of morons


chagarra
28-05-2003, 02:22:48
The box I have been using, was originally loaded with NT4, overlaying a dos base, as was usual at that time.
Since then I have upgraded to 2K pro, but still had the problem of being unable to address more than a 2048K partition.

Just went out and decided to upgrade because 2K had totally filled a 2 gig partition.....

Spent a grand on a new..
Asus P4PE
2.2G Celeron
1 Gig 2700 DDRam
80 Gig HD
Leadtech Ti4200 A280
WinFast TV2400 tv card

All because I was too stupid to read the ******* instructions that originally came with 2K pro. All that was required was to let it remove the partitions and reformat the whole drive....


DUH..... Dumb..? Moi...?

Drekkus
28-05-2003, 11:24:38
Hey, at least you have a brand new toy to play with!!

Qaj the Fuzzy Love Worm
28-05-2003, 17:31:35
First thing I'd do is sell that Celeron on eBay and get a REAL CPU :) :) Maybe one of those nice hyperthreading thingies. That's the ticket!

Darkstar
28-05-2003, 22:34:24
So, you've got 2 machines now. What's the problem?

chagarra
29-05-2003, 02:11:20
Qaj

The board is claimed to be hyperthreading thingy ready, but the little local shop I deal with doesn't have any in stock.
So for the time being I have to stick with the celery...... :-) bad pun.

DS
The problem with that is that I'm running out of room in the garage, there are so many old boxes out there already.
BTW.. Have you looked at the new 'Hells Faire' ISO from Baen.
Interestingly different.

Noisy
07-06-2003, 10:00:12
Your trailer has a garage?

Darkstar
08-06-2003, 04:27:15
I skimmed through the webscription site yesterday and say the Hells Faire, IIRC. But I didn't investigate it. Should I?

chagarra
08-06-2003, 09:34:12
I'm actually in the middle of the puter upgrade at the moment, so I cant use a cd. But I remember that it had a copy of the game "Aldenato", which is based on the series which Hells Faire is in.
I think it requires a D&D playbook.
Seeing how you are into games I thought it may be interesting for you, since all it costs is the sub, and the d'load time for the ISO.

Darkstar
09-06-2003, 21:17:35
Thanks!