PDA

View Full Version : Yay! I tried to install SMAC on Windows XP


DaShi
28-03-2003, 18:32:12
It didn't work so it saved me a lot of stupid frustration. :bounce:

MDA
28-03-2003, 19:08:12
you just have to change the a line in an .ini file so it doesn't try to ID your processor, most likely.

frustration is shooting down 6 hive needlejets and getting attacked by 16 more in the same turn.

Darkstar
28-03-2003, 20:03:32
I think he means that the installer refused to install?

I've got SMAC and SMACAX installed on my XP machine. MDA is correct, you just need to change the force something or other in the ini file.

Here...
----------------------
* Question: When launching Alpha Centauri. I receive the error message "CPU not supported". My computer has a Pentium 4 or newer CPU.

* Answer: You will need to modify a line in the Alpha Centauri.ini that is located in the game folder. To do this:

Double click on My Computer
Double click on the C: Local Drive (your Hard Drive or the drive that the game is installed to)
Double click on the Program Files Folder
Double click on the Firaxis Games Folder
Double click on the Sid Meier's Alpha Centauri Folder]
Double click on the Alpha Centauri.ini File (The file looks like a read me text file with a little gold symbol on it).

Once the file is open in Notepad, change:

ForceOldVoxelAlgorithm=0

to

ForceOldVoxelAlgorithm=1

Be sure to save your changes, then run the game. You may still receive the error message. If it occurs, click OK and the game will load fine.
------------
Found at: http://eatech.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/eatech.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_sid=Hx5eIjFg&p_lva=&p_faqid=8932&p_created=1035833661&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9ncmlkc29ydD0mcF9yb3dfY250PTgmc F9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT0zJnBfcHJvZF9 sdmwxPTIzNSZwX3Byb2RfbHZsMj1_YW55fiZwX2NhdF9sdmwxP TY2JnBfY2F0X2x2bDI9fmFueX4mcF9zY2ZfZmFxcypjJHBsYXR mb3JtPTE4MiZwX3NvcnRfYnk9ZGZsdCZwX3BhZ2U9MQ**&p_li=

Chairman Yang
29-03-2003, 19:06:38
I did that some while ago, but the game crashes very often. Sounds are messed up to. The game usually crashes every time you try to move a unit a long way.

MDA
29-03-2003, 20:40:54
Then its working correctly. :D

TAZ
31-03-2003, 10:10:35
My copy works fine on win2000

Darkstar
01-04-2003, 19:52:16
Chairman Yang, do you have a Soundblaster Live! sound card, by any chance? If so, try updating to DirectX 9 and giving it a spin again. If it isn't one of the many game bugs in SMAC, it could be one of the bugs in SB Live that will cause crash to desktop.