PDA

View Full Version : My computer keeps crashing


The Shaker
25-03-2003, 11:59:13
And now i'll let you guys be tech support and solve my crashing problems.


It keeps crashing.
Make it stop.

Tizzy
25-03-2003, 12:04:47
Switch it off - problem solved

The Shaker
25-03-2003, 12:09:04
:gotit:

Funkodrom
25-03-2003, 12:30:36
Stop installing stuff on it and playing games etc.

Mightytree
25-03-2003, 12:33:50
Buy a new one.

MattHiggs
25-03-2003, 13:32:37
Could be due to many things, need specifications.

Could be due to: overheating, insufficient Power Supply Unit, old or incompatible drivers, user being retarted, lack of ram.

Funkodrom
25-03-2003, 13:33:40
"user being retarted"

I think we have a winner.

The Shaker
25-03-2003, 14:31:22
I don't have a sheep either.

Beta1
25-03-2003, 14:36:11
Funkodrom - are you implying that the shaker used to be a tart, stop being one and then was somehow retarted. So when did he ever stop being a tart?

The Shaker
25-03-2003, 16:12:49
Originally posted by MattHiggs
Could be due to many things, need specifications.

Could be due to: overheating, insufficient Power Supply Unit, old or incompatible drivers, user being retarted, lack of ram.

Ocassionally it blue screens on startup
Quite often crashes during games of CMBB

Probably some memory thingy.
ram is 128+256 sdram pc133 (is it 133..anyway the one that's not 100)
1gig athlon
think i unstabalised it when i stuck the geforce4 in there.

protein
25-03-2003, 16:19:51
The answer lies within your heart, search deep inside and the answer you will find.

Funkodrom
25-03-2003, 16:20:08
Have you installed the latest GeForce drivers?

MattHiggs
25-03-2003, 16:29:16
There are countless issues between Athlons and nVidia cards. Lots and lots of crashes. It's best to update your bios and make sure you have the latest motherboard chipset drivers. They could be ALi, Intel, VIA 4 in 1 etc...

I had exactly the same problems with crashes with 2.4G Athlon and GeForce 3. Here are some things you can try.

I got a 400W PSU which didn't fix it.

Then I updated Bios, and my ALi chipset drivers from www.asus.com.tw. This seemed to work pretty well but I was still getting crashes.

Try the drivers that came with your graphics card as these will have been, most likely, specialised for your manufacturers card. If these do not help try the latest drivers from nVidia site, or try the latest WHQL certified drivers.

Also cooling could help, I've currently got an aluminium case with 5 fans properly ventilating the AGP slot and CPU slot. Try moving your PCI cards away from the GeForce so it has more room to cool.

Turn off anti-alaising and anistropic filtering in your game settings. This is very processor intensive.

Make sure that you have proper sound card drivers (hard to do with Creative Labs cards right now....) and that you have not fiddled with DirectX at all. Most often this is caused by a conflict between the video card and sound card (WinXP tends to assign them both the same IRQ) that only seems to occur while DirectX is being used. You can try to bypass APCI and force the video card and sound card to seperate IRQs.

maroule
25-03-2003, 16:39:18
it crashes during CMBB to shield you from the repeated trauma of being beaten senseless by almost anybody (except possibly RC, who's obviously too well educated to beat anybody at this game)

The Shaker
25-03-2003, 16:45:19
in order

funk : :rolleyes:

matt : :beer: i'll have alook


froggy: :shoot:

The Shaker
25-03-2003, 16:46:49
actually must say it got worse with the latest drivers compared to the ones that came with the card. but the issue was still there with the original drivers.

Sir Penguin
25-03-2003, 20:01:35
Try turning down the hardware acceleration on your graphics. (Display properties | Settings | Advanced | Troubleshoot)

SP

TAZ
25-03-2003, 20:05:02
Try going down the pub instead of watching BSOD...

Darkstar
25-03-2003, 21:59:59
When I had similar problems, it turned out that the cache on my motherboard was going bad (not the CPU's in built one). Replaced that, problem solved.

Cache going/being bad tends to be aggravated by heat.

If you just let the machine run with a graphics intense screen saver, does it still crash out? Or is it that only CMOB crashes on you after a while, and occasionally when you start the machine you get blue screen of death?

TAZ
25-03-2003, 22:12:52
Thats a bit like filosofy...

Darkstar
25-03-2003, 22:44:54
Did you mean to post that under HARDMAD instead of TAZ?

TAZ
26-03-2003, 08:07:36
Who is Hardmad?

I don't have access to the Hardman log-in...

The Shaker
26-03-2003, 08:46:49
Originally posted by Darkstar
When I had similar problems, it turned out that the cache on my motherboard was going bad (not the CPU's in built one). Replaced that, problem solved.

Cache going/being bad tends to be aggravated by heat.

If you just let the machine run with a graphics intense screen saver, does it still crash out? Or is it that only CMOB crashes on you after a while, and occasionally when you start the machine you get blue screen of death?

How do you work out if the cache is bad?

Dunno, not running a SS atm, i'll try it later.

Well CMBO/BB do crash on me quite a lot (freeze)
Yes blue screen of Death strikes from time to time.
The other day it crashed as I tried to get the LWP tracks off the CD.
I reckon it's just trying to piss me off.
Last night was fine though. I turned the accelleration down a notch. antialiasing etc are off.
If it's the heat it'l only get worse as my room is an oven in the summer.

Sir Penguin
26-03-2003, 09:20:54
If you're worried about heat, you can download a hardware monitor application. Assuming you're motherboard has heat sensors, it will tell you the temperature of your CPU and general case insides.

Generally, if your CPU temperature is above 55-60C, it's too hot. The CPU ought to run about 10-15C hotter than the system temperature. If it does but it's still running too hot, you can solve the problem easily by adding cooling devices (of course, if your room is 30C you'll have a hard time keeping the system below 45C and the CPU below 50C). If the CPU is running much more than 15C above the system temperature and is running too hot, then you can improve heat transfer in a variety of ways.

A quick search produces this software, which does the job:

http://fileforum.betanews.com/detail.php3?fid=945201301

SP

Darkstar
27-03-2003, 20:53:17
Shaker, I took my computer down to my friend's shop, and let him and his crew figure it out. I knew heat was what was really bringing out the issue for my machine, and he and his geekiods put it through the ringer. There are advantages to drinking with a guy that owns their own computer shop, after all.

They worked it out by trial and error. What else? If you can swap your cache out for a day or two of trial, and then run your system hot and heavy, that aught to allow you to know if it is the cache or isn't. If you can't do that, I hope you can live with the crashes (I did ;) for a while until it is consistant enough to be easily reproduced outside your place.

Good luck!

BigGameHunter
28-03-2003, 20:52:17
Try blowing on it when you use it.